MotoE Barcelona: Miquel Pons takes historic victory for Lucio Cecchinello Racing

Miquel Pons became LCR's first winner in MotoE
Miquel Pons became LCR's first winner in MotoE

Miquel Pons created history for the LCR team in Barcelona at the weekend when he clinched his maiden victory in the FIM Enel MotoE World Cup.

The rookie’s victory was Lucio Cecchinello’s team’s first in MotoE, which means that they have now won races in each of the four categories that they’ve competed in. LCR have a total of 25 victories: 12 in the 125cc class, nine in the 250cc class, three in MotoGP and one in MotoE.

Related articles from MCN

Previous winners for the LCR team, which celebrates its 25th Anniversary this season, include Cecchinello himself, Noburu Ueda, Randy Di Puniet, Casey Stoner, Roberto Locatelli and Cal Crutchlow.

Ueda clinched the team’s first-ever victory in the 1998 125cc Malaysian Grand Prix in Johar. Later that year Cecchinello would take an emotional victory at the Madrid GP in Jarama.

LCR’s last victory prior to Pons race win in Barcelona came courtesy of Crutchlow at the Argentine GP in 2018. Crutchlow won three times in MotoGP with LCR, becoming the first Brit to win in the premier class for 35 years at Brno in 2016.



In the MotoE race, Pons took the lead into the first left-hander on the penultimate lap. He crossed the line with a 0.531s advantage over Dominique Aegerter. Reigning champion Jordi Torres completed the podium on the Pons Racing 40.

“My first victory is amazing for me,” Pons said. “I worked very hard, and the work is reflected in this victory. I want to dedicate it to my family, partners and team, and to my friend Jason. We worked hard this weekend and at the end of the race I could push a little bit more and make the difference.”

Series leader Alessandro Zaccone finished fourth and now only holds a one-point lead over Aegerter in the standings. MotoE returns at Assen on June 27.