MotoGP: Triumph and Dorna agree new five-year engine deal in Moto2

1 of 3

Triumph Motorcycles will remain as the exclusive engine supplier to the Moto2 World Championship until at least the end of the 2029 season.

It was confirmed at Silverstone on Thursday evening (August 3) that Triumph had signed a new five-year contract with MotoGP organisers Dorna, from 2025-2029. By the end of this contract, Triumph will have powered the intermediate class for a decade.

After already breaking multiple records set by the previous Honda four-cylinder CBR600 engine, this year’s three-cylinder 765cc, based on the road-going Street Triple RS, has been given a 5bhp power boost with a 400rpm higher rev ceiling.

Triumph's three-cylinder 765cc Moto2 engines

“Moto2 continues to be an excellent platform to showcase the performance and capability of our 765 triple engines, driving demand for our new Street Triple 765 range,” Triumph Chief Product Officer, Steve Sargent said.

“Over the last five years, we’ve used the race engine programme to drive enhancements to the 765 engine, and gain insights and learnings that we’ve used to further develop and evolve our Street Triple 765 range. Our reputation for bulletproof durability, reliability and class-leading performance has grown, which in turn, drives our global sales. 

“Just as the Moto2T teams make every lap count, our engineers have used every opportunity to enhance every dimension of the engine performance, from speed, power and torque, to revs, cylinder pressure and compression ratio. This has enabled us to deliver improvements on track each season, achieving shorter race times, faster top speeds and lap times, more winners and closer racing.”

For 2025, Triumph are developing a brand-new race gearbox, whilst its engineers are already testing parts this season to help improve gear selection options in 2024.

Jake Dixon in action on his Triumph-powered Moto2 bike

Meanwhile, during the Day of Champions event at Silverstone, an exclusive Street Triple 765 RS was unveiled and will be the prize for the winner of the 2023 Triumph Triple Trophy. Points are handed out each round to riders setting the fastest top speed, pole position and fastest lap of the race.

As things stand, Pedro Acosta leads the way with 26 points, five clear of Dennis Foggia. Former winners include Raul Fernandez and Marco Bezzecchi.

In the Moto2 Championship, Tony Arbolino leads the way with 148 points, only eight clear of Acosta. Meanwhile, Jake Dixon is third after claiming his maiden Moto2 race win at Assen before the summer break. The Brit is now 44 points behind Arbolino.

“Our first five years working with Triumph are proving to be a real success, with great racing, riders achieving new Moto2 records across the board and impressive reliability from the off,” Dorna Sports Chief Sporting Officier, Carlos Ezpeleta added.

“We wanted this collaboration to help to define that step between Moto3 and the MotoGP class, and I think Triumph have achieved just that. We’re really happy with the way the partnership is evolving as well, with more innovation and development still to come, and we’re looking forward to five more exciting years together.”

The Moto2 race at this weekend’s British Grand Prix follows the MotoGP race on Sunday and is scheduled to begin at 14:30.