Ad closing in seconds....

MotoGP: Pedrosa makes it eight winners in a row

Published: 11 September 2016

Updated: 11 September 2016

Dani Pedrosa has made it eight MotoGP winners in a row by taking a storming victory at the San Marino Grand Prix over Valentino Rossi and Jorge Lorenzo. The Repsol Honda rider gambled with softer tyres and utilised them to his advantage to cut through the field to a dominant win.

It was Lorenzo and Rossi who were early leaders, but lap after lap at record pace saw Pedrosa scythe through the field to take the lead and then continue to pull away from the rest of the field.


Marc Marquez completed championship damage limitation in fourth, ahead of Maverick Viñales, Andrea Dovizioso, and Ducati replacement rider Michele Pirro.

Cal Crutchlow was next across the line, but the Brit was docked a place for exceeding track limits – a decision currently under review by race control – that handed eighth to Pol Espargaró.

Eugene Laverty was 14th, just ahead of Scott Redding in 15th, while Alex Lowes fell from the race.


Looking for the perfect two-wheeled companion? Visit MCN Bikes For Sale website or use MCN's Bikes For Sale App.

Bauer Media

Bauer Media Group consists of: Bauer Consumer Media Ltd, Company number: 01176085, Bauer Radio Ltd, Company Number: 1394141
Registered Office: Media House, Peterborough Business Park, Lynch Wood, Peterborough, PE2 6EA H Bauer Publishing,
Company Number: LP003328 Registered Office: Academic House, 24-28 Oval Road, London, NW1 7DT.
All registered in England and Wales. VAT no 918 5617 01
Bauer Consumer Media Ltd are authorised and regulated by the FCA(Ref No. 710067)