Ryan Farquhar wins Irish Motorcyclist of the year

1 of 1

Ryan Farquhar is the NGK Enkalon Irish Motorcyclist of the Year for 2009.

Ryan received the trophy in the workshop at his Killyman, Co Tyrone home on the evening before he left for the Kings of Wanneroo race meeting in Perth, Australia.

‘I am delighted to win this Award – especially as this was the year when I surpassed Joey’s record of national Road Race wins.

“I would like to thank all the people who voted for me.  And I am very sorry that I am unable to be there in person at the Awards but I will be raising a glass over in Australia!’, Ryan said as he received the magnificent Joey Dunlop trophy.

Enkalon Club Chairman David Weir said that he heard ‘Surprise and delight’ in Ryan’s voice when he gave him the news that he was the 2009 winner.

‘We at the Enkalon Club are delighted with Ryan’s win – we would like to thank all the people who took the time to vote making this the award riders’ want to win.’ David said.

Commenting on the evening, Stewart Neill of NGK Spark Plug said “I always look forward to and enjoy this prestigious evening . NGK are delighted again to support the Enkalon Club and their support of motorcycle racing in Ireland.

“I am personally delighted to see Ryan win this award and I can remember back a number of years, NGK helping Ryan when he first started racing.

The voting was as follows: NGK Irish Motorcyclist Of The Year 2009 – Ryan Farquhar 29%, 2nd Jonathan Rea 17% followed closely by Eugene Laverty with 16% of the votes.

Rounding out the top 6 is Alastair Seeley, Michael Dunlop and Jamie Hamilton.

Other award winners on the evening are;

Irish Off Road Rider of the year- sponsored by Off-Road Ireland – Stuart Edmonds

Most Promising Short Circuit Rider – Sponsored by Irish Bike – Jamie Hamilton

Most Promising Road Racer – Sponsored by Mermaid Club – Wayne Hamilton

Most Promising Off Road Rider – Sponsored by Off-Road Ireland – Natalie Kane

Services to Sport – Sponsored by Nutt Travel – Jack Agnew

Classic Rider of the year – Sponsored by LSI Antrim – Barry Davison

Gary Morrow Memorial Trophy for 125 Clubman – Robert English

Wheels Memorial for 125 newcomer – Josh Cunningham

Chris Nicholl Memorial Trophy – For Best Irish Finisher in the Junior ManxGP – Stephen McIlvenna

Andy Downes

By Andy Downes

Former MCN Senior Reporter