Picture story: The last man to win a TT at the first attempt

1 of 2

This is 27-year-old Dieter Braun, on his way to an extraordinary victory at the 1970 Lightweight 125 TT. Extraordinary not just because he did it on a four-year-old bike (a Suzuki RT67 125 parallel twin) but because it was his first ever TT.

Only seven people have won a TT on their debut, and Dieter is the last. The others are Percy Evans (1911), Tim Wood (1913 Senior), Eric Williams (1914 Senior), Edwin Twemlow (1924 Lightweight 250) Kenneth Twemlow (1924 Junior) and Rupert Hollaus (1954 125cc).