McPint awarded prestigious Segrave Trophy

1 of 1

John McGuinness has been awarded the prestigious Segrave Trophy by the Royal Automotive Club, honouring his contribution to motorsport in the United Kingdom.

One of the most significant awards in British motorsport, Royal Automobile Club Chairman Tom Purves said that the Lancashireman was more than deserving.

“It is our honour to salute John’s career and his remarkable success, particularly at the Isle of Man TT where he became the first rider to achieve an average speed of over 130 mph and, in 2015, set a new outright lap record of 132.701 mph.

“Lady Segrave commissioned the Trophy in 1930, soon after her husband, Sir Henry Segrave died after breaking the water speed record on Lake Windermere. It was her wish that the Trophy would celebrate and encourage those individuals who demonstrated outstanding skill and courage, whether on land, sea or in the air. As one of Britain’s greatest motorcycle racers of his generation, John’s bravery and sheer speed are the exact qualities Lady Segrave wished to celebrate.”

A humbled McGuinness, who was presented the award at the RAC’s clubhouse on London’s Pall Mall, says he’s delighted to have his name added to a list of many of his heroes.

“I’m absolutely honoured to receive this prestigious award. It’s something a little different and I’m definitely in good company when you look back at the motorcycling greats who have previously received this, with the likes of Geoff Duke, Barry Sheene and Joey Dunlop.

“The award has been running since 1930 and I have massive respect for everyone who has been a part of its history and I am so proud to now have my name alongside some of my heroes.”

The Segrave Trophy has been awarded to eight motorcycle racers since 1930:

  • Geoff Duke (1951) for winning the 350cc and 500cc motorcycle world championships and the Senior and Junior Tourist Trophy races in the same year.
  • Barry Sheene MBE (1977 and 1984) for his career in motorcycle grand prix racing, including being the only man to win world championship events at every capacity from 50cc to 500cc.
  • Mike Hailwood GM MBE (1979) for his long career in motorcycle grand prix racing, Formula 1 and his successes in the Isle of Man TT including his last, in 1979, at the age of 39, following a successful comeback to the event after an 11 year hiatus.
  • Steve Webster (1991) for winning his fourth FIM World Sidecar Championship title.
  • Carl Fogarty MBE (1994) for winning the Superbike World Championship with Ducati.
  • Joey Dunlop (2000 posthumously), in recognition of a career of unrivalled achievement on the Isle of Man TT.
  • John Surtees CBE (2012), for his outstanding career in two and four wheeled motor sport, including seven motorcycle world championship titles, culminating in the unique achievement of being the only man to win a motorcycle and Formula 1 world championship.

Read the latest stories causing a buzz this week in Sport…

Simon Patterson

By Simon Patterson

MotoGP and road racing reporter, photographer, videographer