Michael Dunlop wins red-flagged superbike race

Published: 14 May 2016

Michael Dunlop took victory in a red-flagged opening superbike race at the North West 200 ahead of Ian Hutchinson and Michal Rutter.

Buoyed by victory in the superstock race, Hutchinson took the early lead ahead of Bruce Anstey and Gary Johnson but it was Dunlop on the charge, moving up through the pack on the second lap.

Alastair Seeley lost out on the opening lap as he ran on at University corner, but set what was the fastest lap of the race on the second lap as he looked to regain ground .

Dunlop took the lead in a strong charge on lap three which saw him obliterate the circuit record with a 123.207mph lap, but Anstey and Hutchinson were close on his tail.

The race was stopped as riders crossed the line to start the fourth lap, with Dunlop leading Hutchinson and Rutter. Anstey crashed out of the race but was reported to be OK.  

Peter Hickman finished fourth ahead of Lee Johnston, John McGuinness and Conor Cummins with Alastair Seeley taking eighth after the first lap mishap.


  1. Michael Dunlop
  2. Ian Hutchinson
  3. Michael Rutter
  4. Peter Hickman
  5. Lee Johnston
  6. John McGuinness
  7. Conor Cummins
  8. Alastair Seeley
  9. Didier Grams
  10. Jeremy McWilliams