Ad closing in seconds....

NW200: Win 21 for Seeley in epic Superstock battle

Published: 13 May 2017

Updated: 13 May 2017

Alastair Seeley took his fourth victory of the 2017 Vauxhall North West 200 after an epic battle was ended prematurely in the second Superstock race.

It was Seeley’s team-mate Ian Hutchinson who took the lead off the line but running on at York corner, he dropped back to fourth.

Soon regrouping, Hutchinson would join Seeley, Lee Johnston and Michael Rutter battling at the front. Never more than a second apart, the quartet traded places on the high speed straights with Johnston, Seeley and Hutchinson all leading at points.

No matter how hard Seeley tried to build a gap on the Tyco BMW, Rutter and Seeley wouldn’t let him go as the second half of the race got underway but as more rain came down, all three riders put their hands in the air to request a red flag.

The difficult conditions gave Seeley what he needed to bridge that gap with Hutchinson having a huge moment at Mather’s chicance, with the red flag eventually coming out half way around the fourth lap.

In the lead over the line, Seeley took his 21st North West 200 win with Hutchinson second and Rutter third.

Lee Johnston finished fourth ahead of Peter Hickman with Dean Harrison completing the top six.

Horst Saiger crossed the line seventh ahead of Dan Kneen with James Hillier and William Dunlop completing the top ten.

Michael Dunlop was a retirement on the MD Racing Suzuki.

Vauxhall North West 200 – Superstock Race 2

  1. Alastair Seeley – Tyco BMW
  2. Ian Hutchinson – Tyco BMW + 0.226
  3. Michael Rutter – Bathams SMT BMW +0.690
  4. Lee Johnston – East Coast Racing BMW +0.918
  5. Peter Hickman – Smiths BMW +1.367
  6. Dean Harrison – Silicone Engineering Kawasaki +18.786
  7. Horst Saiger – Saiger Racing +19.102
  8. Dan Kneen – DTR BMW +19.435
  9. James Hillier – JG Speedfit Kawasaki +19.962
  10. William Dunlop – Temple Golf Yamaha +20.467 

Looking for the perfect two-wheeled companion? Visit MCN Bikes For Sale website or use MCN's Bikes For Sale App.

Bauer Media

Bauer Media Group consists of: Bauer Consumer Media Ltd, Company number: 01176085, Bauer Radio Ltd, Company Number: 1394141
Registered Office: Media House, Peterborough Business Park, Lynch Wood, Peterborough, PE2 6EA H Bauer Publishing,
Company Number: LP003328 Registered Office: Academic House, 24-28 Oval Road, London, NW1 7DT.
All registered in England and Wales. VAT no 918 5617 01
Bauer Consumer Media Ltd are authorised and regulated by the FCA(Ref No. 710067)