Ad closing in seconds....

TT 2018: Dunlop clocks 18th win in Lightweight TT

Published: 06 June 2018

Updated: 06 June 2018

Michael Dunlop took his 18th Isle of Man TT victory in a record-breaking Bennetts Lightweight race this afternoon.

It wasn’t the easiest win for Dunlop with Ivan Lintin and Derek McGee joining the Ulsterman in shattering the existing lap record on the opening lap.

However, drama would soon strike for Dafabet Devitt Kawasaki’s Lintin, who retired at Bedstead on the second lap handing Dunlop the lead.

Time lost in the pits saw the Paton of Dunlop lose the lead to the IEG Kawasaki of Derek McGee on the penultimate lap, and while he was able to retake the lead the Irishman was never far from his tail in corrected time.

That was until a barnstorming final lap for Dunlop, who clocked an average speed of 122.750mph to shatter James Hillier’s previous record of 120.848mph.

McGee took a strong second place ahead of 2017-victor Michael Rutter, who completed the podium on the Paton he was given when replaced by Dunlop in the factory squad.

Bauer Media

Bauer Media Group consists of: Bauer Consumer Media Ltd, Company number: 01176085, Bauer Radio Ltd, Company Number: 1394141
Registered Office: Media House, Peterborough Business Park, Lynch Wood, Peterborough, PE2 6EA H Bauer Publishing,
Company Number: LP003328 Registered Office: Academic House, 24-28 Oval Road, London, NW1 7DT.
All registered in England and Wales. VAT no 918 5617 01
Bauer Consumer Media Ltd are authorised and regulated by the FCA(Ref No. 710067)