Roads: 2022 Isle of Man TT start numbers revealed

Peter Hickman sets off from 10th in the 2019 Superbike TT race
Peter Hickman sets off from 10th in the 2019 Superbike TT race

The top 20 start numbers for this year’s Isle of Man TT Superbike and Senior Race have been revealed by the organisers.

On his return to Honda, John McGuinness MBE will start at number one and will be followed out onto the Mountain Course by 2019 Senior TT winner Dean Harrison. Harrison remains on a Kawasaki ZX-10RR; however, the Silicone Engineering team has re-branded to become DAO Racing.

Related articles on MCN

Seven-time TT race winner Michael Rutter will depart next on his Bathams Ales BMW, with Ian Hutchinson following him on his BMW M1000 RR, run by the Milwaukee BMW Motorrad by TAS Racing squad. James Hillier completes the top five for RICH Energy OMG Racing Yamaha.

Michael Dunlop lines up in sixth as Paul Bird Motorsport and Ducati return to the island. It’ll be the V4 R’s first appearance at the iconic road racing event, with Dunlop searching for his 20th TT victory.

2-time TT winner Gary Johnson is back at number 7 on the Specsavers/NL Motorcycles BMW, ahead of Davey Todd, who departs from inside the top 10 for the first time in the Superbike class. Todd will represent the Milenco by Padgett’s Motorcycles Honda team.

David Johnson starts ninth on the second OMG Racing Yamaha R1, with Peter Hickman taking his customary number 10 position. His FHO Racing BMW will feature the stunning Gas Monkey Garage livery.

The remaining starters inside the top 10 are as follows:

11 – Conor Cummins
12 – Jamie Coward
13 – Lee Johnston
14 – Philip Crowe
15 – Sam West
16 – Dominic Herbertson
17 – Brian McCormack
18 – Derek Sheils
19 – Shaun Anderson
20 – Craig Neve

Bennetts British Superbike Championship rider Glenn Irwin will make his TT debut from the number 22 spot.

Fans of the TT will be able to watch this year’s event live through the organiser’s own streaming service, TT+. It’ll cost fans £14.99 for the entire two weeks of action, however the remainder of the year is free, and will include new and exclusive content.

This is the first time that the TT can be watched live in its 115-year history. This year’s Isle of Man TT gets underway on Saturday, May 28 and runs through until Saturday, June 11.