Manx Grand Prix 2023: Dean Harrison wins Classic Senior Race

Dean Harrison set a new lap record on his way to victory in the Carole Nash Classic Senior Manx Grand Prix race on Saturday afternoon.

The Craven Manx Norton rider crossed the line with a 52.5-second advantage over John McGuinness. On the second circulation, Harrison recorded a lap of 111.395mph; the fastest-ever lap by a 500cc single cylinder classic bike at the Manx Grand Prix.

McGuinness led the race through Glen Helen on the opening lap, holding a two-second lead over Harrison, and kept his lead through Ballaugh. However, Mike Browne, who ended the race third overall, took the lead away by Ramsey. Browne lost the lead to Harrison on lap two by the time they reach Glen Helen.

The battle for the podium spots was an intense one, with Anderson Shaun Anderson overtaking McGuinness for third by the time they leaped over Ballaugh Bridge on the final lap.

The trio would continue to trade places, with McGuinness eventually taking second spot with a 4.3-second advantage over Browne. Anderson slipped 4.5 seconds behind Browne to come home in fourth.

Adam McLean completed the top five on his first Manx Grand Prix appearance since 2018, finishing ahead of Michael Russel. James Hillier and Rob Hodson crossed the line in seventh and eight respectively, whilst Will Loder and David Madsen-Mygdal complete the top 10.

The MGP Supporters Club Junior Manx Grand Prix (16:15) and Sure Lightweight Manx Grand Prix (18:15) are also due to take place on August 26, with the Mylchreest Group Senior Manx Grand Prix (11:30) and RST Classic Superbike Manx Grand Prix (18:15) taking place on August 28.