Roads: Peter Hickman crowned MCN Rider of the Year 2022

1 of 2

Peter Hickman has been crowned MCN Rider of the Year 2022 following another sensational display at the Isle of Man TT.

Hickman was presented with his trophy during the Devitt Insurance MCN London Motorcycle Show by MCN Sports Editor Michael Guy. Hickman came out on top in a public vote against Pecco Bagnaia, Alvaro Bautista, Bradley Ray and Jake Dixon.

The FHO Racing BMW rider continued to dominate at the TT, which returned after a forced two-year hiatus due to Covid-19. It was a long time without road racing, but the form book remained the same upon its return.

Hickman won the Superbike, Superstock and Senior TT onboard his Gas Monkey Garage by FHO Racing BMW M1000RR, whilst he also stood on the top step of the podium in the Supertwin TT race on his Paton S1-R. In doing so, Hickman became only the third rider in TT history to win four races in a week.

The Bennetts British Superbike Championship racer now has nine TT race wins to his name, putting him 10th in the all-time rankings. In fact, Hickman is just one shy of Giacomo Agostini.

Such is his dominance, it’s hard to see Hickman being defeated at the TT in 2023 either. In BSB, Hickman remains with FHO Racing and will race alongside fellow veteran Josh Brookes this season.

Hickman reacted to his victory through his social media channels: “A massive thank you to everyone who voted for me, as ever, you guys are mega!”