Bayliss achieves back-to-back wins in Germany

1 of 1

Troy Bayliss continued his domination of the World Superbike championship with double race wins. Both times he took the wins from Colin Edwards and teammate Ruben Xaus in third..

Race One was a battle between Bayliss and Edwards, with Xaus taking a lonely third place, ahead of Aprilia’s Noriyuki Haga, Ducati’s Ben Bostrom, and the NCR Ducati of Pierfrancesco Chili. The top British rider was James Toseland in seventh, after Chris Walker retired on the start line with a mechanical failure, and Neil Hodgson crashed out in the early stages of the race. Mark Heckles finished seventeenth on the Castrol Honda Rumi bike.

The top ten was completed by Gregorio Lavilla, Steve Martin, and Lucio Pedercini.

Race Two finished with an identical top three, despite the best efforts of Ruben Xaus, who first passed Edwards, and then challenged Bayliss for the lead. Xaus eventually dropped back to third after a reminder from his team that they would like to see both Xaus, and more importantly teammate Bayliss, both finish the race.

Bostrom claimed fourth this time, ahead of Haga, with Chili again taking sixth. James Toseland repeated his race one finish to take seventh as top Brit, this time followed home by teammate Neil Hodgson, who dropped back after overshooting his braking point at the end of the main straight. Chris Walker made it to ninth place, ahead of Lucio Pedercini, with Mark Heckles again seventeenth.

The World Supersport race was won by Katsuaki Fujiwara, after the exclusion of Fabien Foret. Fujiwara was followed by Andrew Pitt and Stephane Chambon, with Chambon now leading the World Supersport championship.

Jamie Whitham and teammate Paolo Casoli were also excluded, leaving Iain MacPherson the sole British finisher in tenth, after both James Ellison and Rob Frost retired

Read the latest stories causing a buzz this week in Sport…

MCN Staff

By MCN Staff