Bayliss wins in Monza

1 of 1

Troy Bayliss has won the first race at Monza after a miscalculation by Neil Hodgson. Hodgson had made a good start from pole position, and with the retirement of Noriyuki Haga, had seemed to have the upper hand in a three way dice for the lead.

Both Bayliss and Edwards straightlined the first chicane on lap nine after outbraking themselves, leaving Hodgson thinking that they would be penalised, and there was no need to overtake Bayliss on the last lap. Race directors disagreed, and Hodgson was placed third, behind Bayliss and Edwards.

Pier-Francesco Chili was also disappointed by the decision, which left him fourth, one place ahead of James Toseland, after a good race by the young British rider. Toseland finished ahead of factory rider Ruben Xaus, with the rest of the top ten consisting of Alessandro Antonello, Eric Bostrom, and Steve Martin in tenth.

Brit Mark Heckles claimed 15th, whilst Chris Walker retired after a tangle with Marco Borciani.

MCN Staff

By MCN Staff