Suzuki take top three at Bol D’or

1 of 1

The 2002 Bold D’or endurance race finished with the Castrol Suzuki team taking the first and second places from the GMT 94 team, also mounted on a Suzuki.

The race was won by the Suzuki team of French riders, Jean-Michel Bayle, Nicolas Dussauge and Sebastien Gimbert. The team completed 814 laps in a time of 24:01:49, ahead of the number one machine piloted by Brian Morrison, Christian Lavielle and Phillip Dobe.

Giovanni Bussei, Wlliam Costes and Sebastian Scarnato were able to bring the GMT 94 Suzuki home in third, ahead of the first non-Suzuki, the Kawasaki ZX9R or Bertrand, Dorgeix and Devoyen.

The best finish for the Brits was the thirteenth of the Alfs/Motomax team of Simon Smith, Ina Scott and Andi Notman on a Kawasaki ZX9R. This was after the demise of Phase One’s hopes, crashing out of the event. Warwick nowland was riding, 70 laps into the race, when he had his ” worst crash ever ” . The brakes appeared to seize on the Phase One Suzuki, flinging Nowland over the bars as the bike cartwheeled.

MCN Staff

By MCN Staff