Hodgson fastest in wet Superpole

1 of 1

The rain caused havoc for the Superpole session at the fourth round of the World Superbike championship at Monza, Italy.

It began to pour down half way through the session while Gregorio Lavilla was out on the track forcing officials to extend the session to four flying laps instead of the usual one.

Neil Hodgson took the fastest time with a 1:46.981 but only just made it over the line before his bike ground to a halt.

Frankie Chili put in a good performance at his home circuit taking second place just 0.1 seconds behind Hodgson.

James Toseland took third place followed by Regis Laconi and Gregorio Lavilla with Lucio Percini, Chris Walker and Vittorio Iannuzzo finishing the second row.

Marco Borciani crashed his Ducati 998 but was unhurt and managed to finish in 9th place.


1. Hodgson Neil 1:46.981 2. Chili Pierfrancesco 1:47.096 3. Toseland James 1:47.502 4. Laconi RĂ©gis 1:47.537 5. Lavilla Gregorio 1:47.964 6. Pedercini Lucio 1:48.281 7. Walker Chris 1:49.003 8 Iannuzzo Vittorio 1:49.350 9. Borciani Marco 1:49.829 10. Gramigni Alex 1:50.172 11. Corser Troy 1:50.244 12. Martin Steve 1:50.903 13. Bussei Giovanni 1:51.417 14. Sanchini Mauro 1:51.714.

To comment on this story click the link on the right to go to our WSB discussion board

MCN Staff

By MCN Staff