Vermeulen Assen double

1 of 1

Chris Vermeulen has won both races at the Assen round of the World Superbike championship.

The Australian had dominated the first race, but found the going harder for his second attempt. Sixth off the line, it took until lap seven for the Ten kate Honda to break into the lead, only for Noriyuki Haga to battle back to the front on lap 12. It took until the penultimate lap for Vermeulen to regain the lead and hold it until the chequered flag.

James Toseland took third place, with Troy Corser in fourth. Corser now leads the championship by 86 points. Jurgen van den Goorbergh finished 17th.

Race Two results:

1. Vermeulen.

2. Haga.

3. Toseland.

4. Corser.

5. Pitt.

6. Lanzi.

7. Neukirchner.

8. Muggeridge.

9. Abe.

10. Bostrom.

11. Kagayama.

12. McCoy.

13. Gimbert

14. Chili.

15. Bussei.

16. Martin.

17. Vd Goorbergh

18. Velini.

19. Praia.

20. Nickmans.

21. Menzen.

22. Moojman.

23. Clementi.

24. Mrkyvka.

25. Vizziello.

26. Sanchini.

27. Alfonsi.

28. Cardoso.

29. Pedercini.

Race One:

Chris Vermeulen capitalised on a pole position start to take the win in race one of the World Superbike championship at Assen.

Riding for the Dutch Ten Kate Honda team, the Australian was able to pull clear of the field on lap three, which he held to the flag. Second place went to James Toseland, following a race long battle with Noriyuki Haga. The Japanese Yamah rider eventually hadto settle for third as his machine started to fade.

Troy Corser took fourth, suffering from a lap of rear grip. But the biggest heartache was saved for Chris Walker. On the first lap, he was taken out by Rizla Suzuki wildcard Jurgen van den Goorbergh, and the crash resulted in a broken right elbow. Walker is unlikely to be fit for the next round of the championship.

Race One results:

1. Vermeulen

2. Toseland.

3. Haga.

4. Corser.

5. Pitt.

6. Kagayama.

7. Lanzi.

8. Neukirchner.

9. Muggeridge.

10. Chili.

11. Clementi.

12. Gimbert.

13. McCoy.

14. Martin.

15. Bussei.

16. Vizziello.

17. Cardoso.

18. Bostrom.

19. Sanchini.

20. Vd Goorbergh.

21. Praia.

22. Menzen.

23. Moojman.

24. Abe.

25. Velini.

26. Withag.

27. Nickmans.

28. Borciani.

29. Mrkyvka.

30. Pedercini.

31. Alfonsi.

MCN Staff

By MCN Staff