Bayliss fastest despite injuries

1 of 1

Troy Bayliss showed no ill effects of his groin and figure injuries during the first free practice at Valencia.

The Australian dominated the session to finish first with a time of 1m35.142.

Despite being in obvious discomfort Bayliss completed 15 laps with his longest stint of four fast laps.

The reigning world champion has incredible form at the Valencia track having won both WSB races in 2006 plus the final round of the MotoGP onboard the Desmosedici.

Second spot went to another Valencia specialist, Troy Corser. Corser was the only rider to stay close to Bayliss’ early pace with a lap time of 1m35.403.

After a slow start Yamaha team-mate Noriyuki Haga set the third fastest time with Britain’s James Toseland in fourth 0.8 seconds off the pace of Bayliss.

Toseland completed 15 laps and spent time in the pits trying to improve traction after struggling with wheel spin around the predominantly second gear circuit.

Karl Muggeridge put in an impressive performance to finish fifth fastest after setting a string of quick laps with local man Ruben Xaus in sixth.

A resurgent Steve Martin looked impressive to go seventh fastest ahead of Regis Laconi and Max Biaggi. Lorenzo Lanzi was fast early on but slipped down the order to end the opening session in tenth spot.

Free practice times:

Bayliss Ducati Xerox 1:35.142
Corser Yamaha Motor Italia 1:35.403
Haga Yamaha Motor Italia 1:35.917
Toseland Hannspree Ten Kate Honda 1:35.946
Muggeridge Alto Evolution Honda 1:36.260
Xaus Team Sterilgarda 1:36.570
Martin DFX Xorse 1:36.574
Laconi Kawasaki PSG-1 1:36.620
Biaggi Alstare Suzuki Corona Extra 1:36.648
Lanzi Ducati Xerox Team 1:36.668
Neukirchner Suzuki Germany 1:36.784
Smrz Team Caracchi Ducati SC 1:36.854
Bussei Team Sterilgarda 1:36.854
Nieto Kawasaki PSG-1 Corse 1:36.969
Nakatomi Yamaha YZF 1:37.063
Morales Team Laglisse 1:37.110
Fabrizio DFX Corse 1:37.130
Rolfo Hannspree Ten Kate Honda 1:37.138
Kagayama Alstare Suzuki Corona Extra 1:37.176
Brookes Alto Evolution Honda 1:37.180
Moreli Team Pedercin 1:39.079
Ellison Team Pedercin 1:39.516
Zaiser LBR Racing 1:39.787



Michael Guy

By Michael Guy

Sports Editor, former 250-racer and adventure rider