Misano World Superbikes: Troy Bayliss wins race one

Published: 17 June 2007

Troy Bayliss has won the first race of the Misano round of the World Superbikes championship for Xerox Ducati, with Troy Corser claiming second on the Yamaha Italia motorcycle, and ex-British Superbike star Yukio Kagayama third for Alstare Suzuki.

Bayliss led almost immediately, with pole position man Troy Corser and teammate Noriyuki Haga close behind, with Max Biaggi on the Alstare Suzuki, Regis Laconi on the PSG-1 Kawasaki and Britain's James Toseland on the Hanspree Ten Kate Honda. As the leading quartet pulled away, Toseland pulled past Laconi's Kawasaki and began to try and close the gap.

As the race developed it was Noriyuki Haga who challenged Troy Bayliss, leading the factory Xerox Ducati from lap nine until lap 20. By this time Max Biaggi had closed on the leading duo and began to challenge, eventually trying to pass Haga's Yamaha Italia, but as the pair touched they both crashed out of the race. Troy Corser was promoted to second place after the incident, with Yukio Kagayama moving to third after he had chased and passed Jams Toseland. Toseland managed to salvage fourth place for the Ten Kate Honda squad and for his championship lead.

Britain's other World Superbike rider, Dean Ellison, finished in 14th place for Team Pedercini

Misano World Superbikes Race One results:

1. Troy Bayliss AUS Ducati Xerox 999F07 38min 52.856 secs
2. Troy Corser AUS Yamaha Motor Italia YZF R1 2.374 secs
3. Yukio Kagayama JPN Alstare Suzuki Corona Extra GSXR1000 K7 8.965 secs
4. James Toseland GBR Ten Kate Honda CBR 1000RR 11.11 secs
5. Roberto Rolfo ITA Ten Kate Honda CBR 1000RR 18.709 secs
6. Lorenzo Lanzi ITA Ducati Xerox 999F07 20.467 secs
7. Regis Laconi FRA PSG-1 Kawasaki Corse ZX10R 22.072 secs
8. Ruben Xaus ESP GMB Racing Ducati 999F06 25.424 secs
9. Max Neukirchner GER Suzuki Germany GSXR1000 K6 30.891 secs
10. Jakub Smrz CZE Team Caracchi Ducati SC 999 F05 37.724 secs
11. Marco Borciani ITA Sterilgarda - Berik Ducati 999 F05 44.898 secs
12. Mauro Sanchini ITA PSG-1 Kawasaki Corse ZX10R 1min 1.538 secs
13. Lorenzo Morelli ITA Team Pedercini Ducati 999RS 1min 37.781 secs
14. Dean Ellison GBR Team Pedercini Ducati 999RS 1 Lap secs
15. Christian Zaiser AUT LBR Racing Team MV Agust F4 1 Lap secs


Noriyuki Haga JPN Yamaha Motor Italia YZF R1
Max Biaggi ITA Alstare Suzuki Corona Extra GSXR1000 K7
Fonsi Nieto ESP PSG-1 Kawasaki Corse ZX10R
L. Conforti ITA Emmebi Team Honda CBR 1000RR
Shinichi Nakatomi JPN Yamaha Motor France-Ipone YZF R1
Alessandro Polita ITA Celani Suzki Italia GSXR1000 K6
Michel Fabrizio ITA DFX Treme Honda CBR 1000RR