Imola WSB: Fabrizio takes race two win

1 of 1

Italian Michel Fabrizio has won the second WSB race in Imola ahead of team-mate and new championship leader Noriyuki Haga.

Noriyuki Haga took to the lead early on in the race, ahead of Fabrizio and Aprilia rider Max Biaggi, but Haga was unable to pull away from Fabrizio, who got passed Haga and pulled ahead.

Aprilia wildcard Simoncelli battled throught the field, passing Ben Spies and Max Biaggi along the way to bring the Aprilia RSV4 home in an impressive third place.

Title contender Ben Spies failed to replicate the form he has shown previously as he struggled to a fifth place finish aboard the Sterilgarda Yamaha.

Despite several off-track excursions, Jonathan Rea was the highest placed Brit, in seventh position ahead of Shane Byrne and Leon Haslam in eighth and ninth. Tom Sykes finished 12th.

1. Michel Fabrizio ITA Ducati Xerox 1198R  21 laps
2. Noriyuki Haga JPN Ducati Xerox 1198R  +3.592s
3. Marco Simoncelli ITA Aprilia Racing RSV-4  +6.510s
4. Max Biaggi  ITA Aprilia Racing RSV-4  +7.445s
5. Ben Spies  USA Yamaha WSB YZF R1  +14.678s
6. Jonathan Rea GBR HANNspree Ten Kate Honda CBR1000 +16.396s
7. Shane Byrne  GBR Sterilgarda Ducati 1098R  +17.110s
8. Leon Haslam  GBR Stiggy Motorsport Honda CBR1000RR  +22.502s
9. Jakub Smrz  CZE Guandalini Racing Ducati 1098R  +25.268s
10. Carlos Checa ESP HANNspree Ten Kate Honda CBR1000RR +30.203s
11. Lorenzo Lanzi ITA DFX Corse Ducati 1098R  +32.649s
12. Tom Sykes  GBR Yamaha WSB YZF R1  +36.243s
13. Ruben Xaus ESP BMW Motorrad S1000RR  +36.368s
14. Karl Muggeridge AUS Alstare Suzuki GSX-R 1000K9  +38.809
15. Broc Parkes AUS Kawasaki SRT ZX-0R  +42.438s

16. Matteo Baiocco ITA Guandalini Racing Ducati 1098R  +49.349s
17. Ryuichi Kiyonari JPN Ten Kate Honda CBR1000RR  +1min 01.823s
18. Luca Scassa ITA Team Pedercini Kawasaki ZX-10R  +1min 06.854s


Liam Marsden

By Liam Marsden

Former MCN Web Producer