Ad closing in seconds....

Silverstone WSS: Davies wins in front of home crowd

Published: 31 July 2011

Updated: 24 November 2014

Chaz Davies extended his World Supersport championship lead to nearly two races worth of points after taking the win in today’s race from Silverstone.
Davies, who’d spent most of the weekend outside the top five on his ParkinGO Yamaha, now has a 42-point lead over this weekend’s polesitter, Kawasaki’s David Salom.
But Davies said he was confident with the race setup and tyre choice he spent all weekend perfecting.
He said: “That was not unexpected. I thought we could be close, but maybe not win today. I was also obviously thinking about the championship a little bit. As soon as we got past five laps, I knew I would be there until the end.
“I knew at the end of the race, there would be a lot of guys in a similar condition with tyres. In the middle of the race the tyre was really spinning a lot and I wasn’t sure what to do because I didn’t want to wreck the tyre but I also felt it wasn’t really the time to give it absolutely everything and try to break away. So I saved that for five laps to go.”
Polesitter Sam Lowes crashed out early on in the race after getting his Parkalgar Honda tangled up with Step Racing Honda’s Gino Rea. The two came together after Lowes had moved past Robin Harmes and said he didn’t see Rea move to his line.
Lowes said: “Gino was in his normal riding style, all over the place and he’d just come across. It was completely my fault. I just saw him last minute and just clipped the back of him and at that speed it was enough to flick me off.
“I want to apologise to everyone. We had the pace to do a good job, unfortunately it didn’t happen. I’m sorry to everyone, but we’ll put it right at the next one.”
Rea recovered after the collision, despite falling down the order and managed to claw his way back to level with Hannspree Ten Kate Honda’s Fabien Foret.
But after bridging such a large gap to the leaders and gambling with a soft tyre, Rea struggled just to hold on to the bike, eventually running off and falling down to 11th in the order.
Rea said: “I felt I had the pace to be at the front with Chaz at the front. I gave it absolutely everything I had and I just couldn’t have tried harder. It’s just as well I trained hard for this race because it was hard holding onto it.
“Winning’s what we’re here for. Win it or bin it. I’m not going to win the championship so I’m going for the podiums and wins, especially in front of my home crowd. So for me, fourth is the same as tenth.”
James Ellison crossed the line in 10th and second Brit after a testing weekend where he consistently struggled to break the top 10 in free practise and qualifying.
Results of Silverstone World Supersport Race
1. Chaz Davies (Yamaha ParkinGO Team) Yamaha YZF R6 34'55.198
2. David Salom (Kawasaki Kawasaki ZX-6R 34'56.283
3. Fabien Foret (Hannspree Ten Kate Honda) Honda CBR600RR 34'57.647
4. Roberto Tamburini (Bike Service R.T.) Yamaha YZF R6 35'03.517
5. Massimo Roccoli (Lorenzini by Leoni) Kawasaki ZX-6R 35'06.481
6. Broc Parkes (Kawasaki Kawasaki ZX-6R 35'07.506
7. Balazs Nemeth (Team Hungary Toth) Honda CBR600RR 35'09.209
8. Miguel Praia (Parkalgar Honda) Honda CBR600RR 35'10.012
9. Florian Marino (Hannspree Ten Kate Honda) Honda CBR600RR 35'10.104
10. James Ellison (Bogdanka PTR Honda) Honda CBR600RR 35'12.833
11. Gino Rea (Step Racing Team) Honda CBR600RR 35'20.307
12. Luca Scassa (Yamaha ParkinGO Team) Yamaha YZF R6 35'20.428
13. Alexander Lundh (Cresto Guide Racing Team) Honda CBR600RR 35'20.628
14. Ronan Quarmby (Suriano Racing Team) Triumph Daytona 675 35'28.282
15. Vittorio Iannuzzo (Lorenzini by Leoni) Kawasaki ZX-6R 35'38.829
16. Vladimir Ivanov (Step Racing Team) Honda CBR600RR 35'39.096
17. Imre Toth (Team Hungary Toth) Honda CBR600RR 35'39.752
18. Ondrej Jezek (SMS Racing) Honda CBR600RR 35'44.894
19. Luke Stapleford (Profile Road and Racing Perfor) Kawasaki ZX-6R 35'52.166
20. Bastien Chesaux (MACH Racing) Honda CBR600RR 35'57.941
21. Marko Jerman (MD Team Jerman) Triumph Daytona 675 36'11.457
22. Mitchell Pirotta (KUJA Racing) Honda CBR600RR 36'40.315
23. Yves Polzer (Team MRC Austria) Yamaha YZF R6 37'00.602
24. Eduard Blokhin (RivaMoto) Yamaha YZF R6 35'04.680
NC. Christan Cassella (AARK Racing) Triumph Daytona 675 35'16.895
RT. Pawel Szkopek (Bogdanka PTR Honda) Honda CBR600RR 22'18.962
RT. Danilo Dell'Omo (Suriano Racing Team) Triumph Daytona 675 9'30.686
RT. Robbin Harms (Harms Benjan Racing Team) Honda CBR600RR 6'35.327
RT. Luca Marconi (Bike Service R.T.) Yamaha YZF R6 7'32.129
RT. Sam Lowes (Parkalgar Honda) Honda CBR600RR 7'44.537

Bauer Media

Bauer Media Group consists of: Bauer Consumer Media Ltd, Company number: 01176085, Bauer Radio Ltd, Company Number: 1394141
Registered Office: Media House, Peterborough Business Park, Lynch Wood, Peterborough, PE2 6EA H Bauer Publishing,
Company Number: LP003328 Registered Office: Academic House, 24-28 Oval Road, London, NW1 7DT.
All registered in England and Wales. VAT no 918 5617 01
Bauer Consumer Media Ltd are authorised and regulated by the FCA(Ref No. 710067)