Ad closing in seconds....

Silverstone WSB: Smrz steals pole from Camier

Published: 04 August 2012

Updated: 24 November 2014

Effenbert Ducati rider Jakub Smrz will start from pole position at Silverstone tomorrow after snatching pole position from Leon Camier during a wet superpole session.

Superpole was split in to two 20 minute sessions due to the weather, with Brit hopefuls Jonathan Rea, Eugene Laverty and Chaz Davies failing to make the second session.

Tom Sykes, Davide Giugliano and reigning champion Carlos Checa ruled themselves out of the fight for pole position with crashes in the second session.

BMW rider Leon Hasalm took pole position with seconds of the session remaining, only for Camier to beat his time. Smrz was the final rider to cross the line with a fastest time of 2'20.810.

1. Jakub Smrz CZE Liberty Effenbert Ducati 1098R 2m 20.810s
2. Leon Camier GBR FIXI Crescent Suzuki GSX-R1000 2m 20.846s
3. Sylvain Guintoli FRA PATA Ducati 1098R 2m 21.385s
4. Leon Haslam GBR BMW Motorrad S1000RR 2m 21.613s
5. Davide Giugliano ITA Althea Ducati 1098R 2m 21.951s
6. Marco Melandri ITA BMW Motorrad S1000RR 2m 21.960s
7. Carlos Checa ESP Althea Ducati 1098R 2m 23.356s
8. Tom Sykes GBR Kawasaki Racing ZX-10R 2m 24.025s
9. Loris Baz FRA Kawasaki Racing ZX-10R 2m 23.777s
10. Jonathan Rea GBR Honda WSBK CBR1000RR 2m 23.889s
11. Max Biaggi ITA Aprilia Racing RSV-4 2m 24.176s 
12. John Hopkins USA FIXI Crescent Suzuki GSX-R1000 2m 24.274s
13. Maxime Berger FRA Effenbert Liberty Ducati 1098R 2m 24.294s
14. Eugene Laverty IRL Aprilia Racing RSV-4 2m 25.260s
15. Michel Fabrizio ITA BMW Italia Goldbet S1000RR 2m 26.137s
16. Chaz Davies GBR ParkinGO MTC Aprilia RSV-4 2m 26.360s
17. Niccolo Canepa ITA Red Devils Ducati 1098R 2m 06.795s
18. Ayrton Badovini ITA BMW Italia Goldbet S1000RR 2m 06.803s 
19. Lorenzo Zanetti ITA PATA Ducati 1098R 2m 06.869s
20. Hiroshi Aoyama JPN Honda WSBK CBR1000RR 2m 06.921s
21. David Salom ESP Pedercini Kawasaki ZX-10R 2m 08.069s
22. David Johnson AUS Pedercini Kawasaki ZX-10R 2m 09.762s
23. Norino Brignola ITA Grillini Progea BMW S1000RR 2m 10.912s
24. Brett McCormick CAN Effenbert Liberty Ducati 1098R 2m 13.730s


Bauer Media

Bauer Media Group consists of: Bauer Consumer Media Ltd, Company number: 01176085, Bauer Radio Ltd, Company Number: 1394141
Registered Office: Media House, Peterborough Business Park, Lynch Wood, Peterborough, PE2 6EA H Bauer Publishing,
Company Number: LP003328 Registered Office: Academic House, 24-28 Oval Road, London, NW1 7DT.
All registered in England and Wales. VAT no 918 5617 01
Bauer Consumer Media Ltd are authorised and regulated by the FCA(Ref No. 710067)