Ad closing in seconds....

WSS: Lowes leads the way in Monza first qualifying

Published: 04 May 2012

Updated: 24 November 2014

Brit Sam Lowes asserted his dominance at the top of the timesheets to secure provisional pole position at Monza today. The Bogdanka Honda rider set a lap time equal to Eugene Laverty’s 2010 circuit best lap.

The 21 year old leads two time WSS champion Kenan Sofuoglu on the DeltaFin Kawasaki. Third place went to Sofuoglu’s team-mate Sheridan Morais with joint championship leader Fabien Foret rounding out the front row of the grid in fourth.

Monza - FIM Supersport World Championship - Qualifying 1

1. Sam Lowes (Bogdanka PTR Honda) Honda CBR600RR 1'47.601

2. Kenan Sofuoglu (Kawasaki DeltaFin Lorenzini) Kawasaki ZX-6R 1'48.038

3. Sheridan Morais (Kawasaki DeltaFin Lorenzini) Kawasaki ZX-6R 1'48.419

4. Fabien Foret (Kawasaki Intermoto Step) Kawasaki ZX-6R 1'48.696

5. Stefano Cruciani (Puccetti Racing Kawasaki Itali) Kawasaki ZX-6R 1'48.808

6. Roberto Tamburini (Team Lorini) Honda CBR600RR 1'48.817

7. Broc Parkes (Ten Kate Racing Products) Honda CBR600RR 1'48.910

8. Mathew Scholtz (Bogdanka PTR Honda) Honda CBR600RR 1'49.188

9. Massimo Roccoli (Bike Service - WTR TEN 10) Yamaha YZF R6 1'49.204

10. Jules Cluzel (PTR Honda) Honda CBR600RR 1'49.363

11. Imre Toth (Racing Team Toth) Honda CBR600RR 1'49.453

12. Ronan Quarmby (PTR Honda) Honda CBR600RR 1'49.647

13. Luca Marconi (VFT Racing) Yamaha YZF R6 1'49.673

14. Fabio Menghi (VFT Racing) Yamaha YZF R6 1'49.822

15. Vladimir Leonov (Yakhnich Motorsport) Yamaha YZF R6 1'49.880

16. Andrea Antonelli (Team Lorini) Honda CBR600RR 1'49.948

17. Romain Lanusse (Kawasaki Intermoto Step) Kawasaki ZX-6R 1'49.975

18. Mirko Giansanti (Puccetti Racing Kawasaki Itali) Kawasaki ZX-6R 1'50.008

19. Alex Baldolini (Power Team by Suriano) Triumph Daytona 675 1'50.052

20. Ilario Dionisi (PRORACE) Honda CBR600RR 1'50.103

21. Vittorio Iannuzzo (Power Team by Suriano) Triumph Daytona 675 1'50.240

22. Raffaele De Rosa (Team Lorini) Honda CBR600RR 1'50.335

23. Cristiano Erbacci (Bike Service - WTR TEN 10) Yamaha YZF R6 1'50.336

24. Dino Lombardi (Team PATA by Martini) Yamaha YZF R6 1'50.409

25. Martin Jessopp (Riders PTR Honda) Honda CBR600RR 1'50.423

26. Joshua Day (Team GOELEVEN) Kawasaki ZX-6R 1'50.553

27. Jed Metcher (Rivamoto Junior Team) Yamaha YZF R6 1'50.674

28. Balazs Nemeth (Racing Team Toth) Honda CBR600RR 1'50.752

29. Valentine Debise (SMS Racing) Honda CBR600RR 1'51.452

30. Roberto Anastasia (KUJA Racing) Honda CBR600RR 1'52.497

31. Yves Polzer (Team MRC Austria) Yamaha YZF R6 1'52.734

32. Kieran Clarke (Bogdanka Honda PTR) Honda CBR600RR 1'52.913

33. Giovanni Altomonte (KUJA Racing) Honda CBR600RR 1'54.373

34. Eduard Blokhin (Rivamoto) Yamaha YZF R6 1'54.681

35. Thomas Caiani (KUJA Racing) Honda CBR600RR 1'54.877

36. Oleg Pozdneev (Rivamoto) Yamaha YZF R6 1'56.566

Bauer Media

Bauer Media Group consists of: Bauer Consumer Media Ltd, Company number: 01176085, Bauer Radio Ltd, Company Number: 1394141
Registered Office: Media House, Peterborough Business Park, Lynch Wood, Peterborough, PE2 6EA H Bauer Publishing,
Company Number: LP003328 Registered Office: Academic House, 24-28 Oval Road, London, NW1 7DT.
All registered in England and Wales. VAT no 918 5617 01
Bauer Consumer Media Ltd are authorised and regulated by the FCA(Ref No. 710067)