Ad closing in seconds....

Monza WSB: Guintoli takes pole

Published: 05 May 2012

Updated: 24 November 2014

Team Effenbert Liberty Ducati rider Sylvain Guintoli will start tomorrow's WSB races at Monza from pole position after coping with the difficult track conditions during superpole.

Superpole was declared wet, meaning there were only two 20 minute sessions.

Brit Tom Sykes set the second fastest time, not setting pole for the first time this season. Factory BMW rider Marco Melandri was third fastest. Current champion Carlos Checa completes the front row in fourth.

Jonathan Rea heads the second row ahead of 2010 champion Max Biaggi. Biaggi's team-mate Eugene Laverty set the 10th fastest time.

Brits Leon Camier, Leon Haslam and Chaz Davies will start from12th, 14th and 16th respectively.

1. Sylvain Guintoli (Team Effenbert Liberty Racing) Ducati 1098R 1'54.276
2. Tom Sykes (Kawasaki Racing Team) Kawasaki ZX-10R 1'54.990
3. Marco Melandri (BMW Motorrad Motorsport) BMW S1000 RR 1'55.971
4. Carlos Checa (Althea Racing) Ducati 1098R 1'56.793
5. Jonathan Rea (Honda World Superbike Team) Honda CBR1000RR 1'57.630
6. Max Biaggi (Aprilia Racing Team) Aprilia RSV4 Factory 1'58.666
7. Jakub Smrz (Liberty Racing Team Effenbert) Ducati 1098R 1'59.718
8. Davide Giugliano (Althea Racing) Ducati 1098R 2'00.645
9. John Hopkins (Crescent Fixi Suzuki) Suzuki GSX-R1000 1'59.489
10. Eugene Laverty (Aprilia Racing Team) Aprilia RSV4 Factory 1'59.680
11. Michel Fabrizio (BMW Motorrad Italia GoldBet) BMW S1000 RR 1'59.681
12. Leon Camier (Crescent Fixi Suzuki) Suzuki GSX-R1000 1'59.845
13. Ayrton Badovini (BMW Motorrad Italia GoldBet) BMW S1000 RR 1'59.978
14. Leon Haslam (BMW Motorrad Motorsport) BMW S1000 RR 2'00.093
15. David Salom (Team Pedercini) Kawasaki ZX-10R 2'00.602
16. Chaz Davies (ParkinGO MTC Racing) Aprilia RSV4 Factory 2'01.772
17. Lorenzo Zanetti (PATA Racing Team) Ducati 1098R 1'44.203
18. Niccolò Canepa (Red Devils Roma) Ducati 1098R 1'44.321
19. Maxime Berger (Team Effenbert Liberty Racing) Ducati 1098R 1'44.489
20. Hiroshi Aoyama (Honda World Superbike Team) Honda CBR1000RR 1'44.686
21. Leandro Mercado (Team Pedercini) Kawasaki ZX-10R 1'45.156
22. Mark Aitchison (Grillini Progea Superbike Team) BMW S1000 RR 1'45.841
23. Sergio Gadea (Kawasaki Racing Team) Kawasaki ZX-10R 1'48.085




Bauer Media

Bauer Media Group consists of: Bauer Consumer Media Ltd, Company number: 01176085, Bauer Radio Ltd, Company Number: 1394141
Registered Office: Media House, Peterborough Business Park, Lynch Wood, Peterborough, PE2 6EA H Bauer Publishing,
Company Number: LP003328 Registered Office: Academic House, 24-28 Oval Road, London, NW1 7DT.
All registered in England and Wales. VAT no 918 5617 01
Bauer Consumer Media Ltd are authorised and regulated by the FCA(Ref No. 710067)