Ad closing in seconds....

Donington Park WSB: Sykes takes home pole

Published: 12 May 2012

Updated: 24 November 2014

Kawasaki rider Tom Sykes will start from pole position at Donington Park tomorrow for the fourth time this season.

Sykes set a fastest time of 1'27.716, beating the previous track best by 0.3 seconds.

Fellow Brit Leon Haslam set the second fastest time onboard the BMW Motorrad S1000RR. Italians Marco Melandri and Max Biaggi complete the front row in third and fourth.

Effenbert Liberty Ducati rider Sylvain Guintoli heads the front row, with team-mate Jakub Smrz at the back of the second row in eighth. Jonathan Rea and Leon Camier will start from sixth and seventh.

Eugene Laverty will start from 12th on the grid after struggling to tame the powerful Aprilia RSV4 round the Leicestershire circuit.

Cheer Sykes and the rest of the Brits on tomorrow at Donington Park. You can pay on the gate!

1. Tom Sykes (Kawasaki Racing Team) Kawasaki ZX-10R 1'27.716
2. Leon Haslam (BMW Motorrad Motorsport) BMW S1000 RR 1'27.864
3. Marco Melandri (BMW Motorrad Motorsport) BMW S1000 RR 1'28.177
4. Max Biaggi (Aprilia Racing Team) Aprilia RSV4 Factory 1'28.340
5. Sylvain Guintoli (Team Effenbert Liberty Racing) Ducati 1098R 1'28.420
6. Jonathan Rea (Honda World Superbike Team) Honda CBR1000RR 1'28.546
7. Leon Camier (FIXI Crescent Suzuki) Suzuki GSX-R1000 1'28.551
8. Jakub Smrz (Liberty Racing Team Effenbert) Ducati 1098R 1'28.785
9. Carlos Checa (Althea Racing) Ducati 1098R 1'28.497
10. Ayrton Badovini (BMW Motorrad Italia GoldBet) BMW S1000 RR 1'28.614
11. Michel Fabrizio (BMW Motorrad Italia GoldBet) BMW S1000 RR 1'28.683
12. Eugene Laverty (Aprilia Racing Team) Aprilia RSV4 Factory 1'29.032
13. Davide Giugliano (Althea Racing) Ducati 1098R 1'29.236
14. Niccolò Canepa (Red Devils Roma) Ducati 1098R 1'29.319
15. Maxime Berger (Team Effenbert Liberty Racing) Ducati 1098R 1'29.371
16. Chaz Davies (ParkinGO MTC Racing) Aprilia RSV4 Factory 1'29.493
17. Hiroshi Aoyama (Honda World Superbike Team) Honda CBR1000RR 1'30.008
18. Loris Baz (Kawasaki Racing Team) Kawasaki ZX-10R 1'30.237
19. Peter Hickman (FIXI Crescent Suzuki) Suzuki GSX-R1000 1'30.296
20. Lorenzo Zanetti (PATA Racing Team) Ducati 1098R 1'30.402
21. Mark Aitchison (Grillini Progea Superbike Team) BMW S1000 RR 1'31.102
22. Leandro Mercado (Team Pedercini) Kawasaki ZX-10R 1'31.540
23. Gary Mason (Team Pedercini) Kawasaki ZX-10R 1'33.103

Bauer Media

Bauer Media Group consists of: Bauer Consumer Media Ltd, Company number: 01176085, Bauer Radio Ltd, Company Number: 1394141
Registered Office: Media House, Peterborough Business Park, Lynch Wood, Peterborough, PE2 6EA H Bauer Publishing,
Company Number: LP003328 Registered Office: Academic House, 24-28 Oval Road, London, NW1 7DT.
All registered in England and Wales. VAT no 918 5617 01
Bauer Consumer Media Ltd are authorised and regulated by the FCA(Ref No. 710067)