Magny Cours WSS: Cluzel wins, Lowes second, Linfoot third

1 of 1

Frenchman Jules Cluzel secured his fourth win of his rookie World Supersport season with a convincing victory at Mangy Cours onboard his PTR Honda. Cluzel rode the drying track superbly to make it the third French winner of the day following Sylvan Barrier’s victory in Superstock and Sylvan Guintoli’s WSB win.

Cluzel said: “This weekend my team have done a great job, I was able to lead the race and control the pace so I am very happy. It’s been a good day so far with Sylvan winning in WSB and now me in WSS. All in all it’s been a great first year for me in WSS, I had a lot to learn in the first five rounds, but I finished the year very strong.”

Second place went to Sam Lowes who fought his way up through the field and at one point looked set to reel in Cluzel for the victory.

Lowes said: “The last few races have not been perfect and a lot of that has been down to me. It’s been great to finish on a high note and my team really deserve it. They’ve been fully behind me for the last two years and I’d like to thank them for that.”

Hard charging Brit, Dan Linfoot made the most of the difficult conditions to secure his maiden WSS podium despite being knocked off on the final lap by Kenan Sofuoglu. Linfoot who was lying third at the time was able to pick his bike up and cross the line in fourth, but was promoted to third after Sofuoglu was handed a 25 second penalty for his actions.

Linfoot said: “It was a very aggressive race, but the rain helped as it was a real leveller today. I’m really grateful to my team and I believe I could be a contender next year so I’m hoping to be here again in 2013.”

Cluzel’s victory means that Honda have secured their ninth World Supersport constructers title.

Magny-Cours - FIM Supersport World Championship - Race

1. Jules Cluzel (PTR Honda) Honda CBR600RR 42'20.985

2. Sam Lowes (Bogdanka PTR Honda) Honda CBR600RR 42'22.576

3. Dan Linfoot (MSD R-N Racing Team India) Kawasaki ZX-6R 42'48.600

4. Kenan Sofuoglu (Kawasaki Lorenzini) Kawasaki ZX-6R 42'48.839

5. Fabien Foret (Kawasaki Intermoto Step) Kawasaki ZX-6R 42'52.586

6. Alex Baldolini (Power Team by Suriano) Triumph Daytona 675 43'07.730

7. Mathew Scholtz (Bogdanka PTR Honda) Honda CBR600RR 43'11.805

8. Andrea Antonelli (Bike Service R.T.) Yamaha YZF R6 43'11.919

9. Gabor Talmacsi (PRORACE) Honda CBR600RR 43'14.075

10. Jed Metcher (Rivamoto Junior Team) Yamaha YZF R6 43'16.649

11. Florian Marino (MSD R-N Racing Team India) Kawasaki ZX-6R 43'18.207

12. Balazs Nemeth (Racing Team Toth) Honda CBR600RR 43'19.360

13. Imre Toth (Racing Team Toth) Honda CBR600RR 43'21.348

14. Sheridan Morais (Kawasaki Lorenzini) Kawasaki ZX-6R 43'37.809

15. Massimo Roccoli (Team PATA by Martini) Yamaha YZF R6 43'38.160

16. Cristiano Erbacci (VFT Racing) Yamaha YZF R6 43'38.477

17. Vladimir Leonov (Yakhnich Motorsport) Yamaha YZF R6 43'47.278

18. Martin Jessopp (Riders PTR Honda) Honda CBR600RR 43'57.660

19. Vittorio Iannuzzo (Power Team by Suriano) Triumph Daytona 675 43'59.968

20. Roman Stamm (Team Suzuki Mayer) Suzuki GSX-R600 44'01.159

21. Fabio Menghi (VFT Racing) Yamaha YZF R6 44'08.901

22. Miguel Praia (Bogdanka Honda PTR) Honda CBR600RR 44'09.163

23. Axel Maurin (Team GOELEVEN) Kawasaki ZX-6R 42'35.869

24. Mitchell Carr (Benjan Racing) Honda CBR600RR 42'36.169

25. Roberto Tamburini (Team Lorini) Honda CBR600RR 42'38.024

26. Ronan Quarmby (PTR Honda) Honda CBR600RR 42'46.916

27. Broc Parkes (Ten Kate Racing Products) Honda CBR600RR 43'57.274

28. Romain Lanusse (Kawasaki Intermoto Step) Kawasaki ZX-6R 42'53.379

29. Yves Polzer (Team MRC Austria) Yamaha YZF R6 42'54.129

RT. Danilo Marrancone (KUJA Racing) Honda CBR600RR 41'32.657

RT. Valentin Debise (SMS Racing) Honda CBR600RR 8'37.957

RT. Eduard Blokhin (Rivamoto) Yamaha YZF R6 9'17.179

Read the latest stories causing a buzz this week in Sport…

Michael Guy

By Michael Guy

Sports Editor, former 250-racer and adventure rider