Biaggi pushes his way to the top of second qualifying

Published: 22 September 2012

A late charge by championship leader Max Biaggi in the dying minutes of second qualifying saw him move to the top of the time sheets onboard his factory Aprilia. He was followed him by in form Brit Tom Sykes who also left it to the final minutes of the session to move up the leader board.

The two men knocked BMW riders Marco Melandri and Leon Haslam off the top spot with factory Aprilia man Eugene Laverty in fifth place.

Brits Jonathan Rea and Leon Camier qualified in seventh and eighth places respectively with Nurburgring race winner Chaz Davies having a difficult day down in 13th spot.


Portimao - FIM Superbike World Championship - Qualifying 2
1. Max Biaggi (Aprilia Racing Team) Aprilia RSV4 Factory 1'42.800
2. Tom Sykes (Kawasaki Racing Team) Kawasaki ZX-10R 1'42.940
3. Marco Melandri (BMW Motorrad Motorsport) BMW S1000 RR 1'42.997
4. Leon Haslam (BMW Motorrad Motorsport) BMW S1000 RR 1'43.278
5. Eugene Laverty (Aprilia Racing Team) Aprilia RSV4 Factory 1'43.283
6. Loris Baz (Kawasaki Racing Team) Kawasaki ZX-10R 1'43.436
7. Jonathan Rea (Honda World Superbike Team) Honda CBR1000RR 1'43.441
8. Leon Camier (FIXI Crescent Suzuki) Suzuki GSX-R1000 1'43.536
9. Davide Giugliano (Althea Racing) Ducati 1098R 1'43.558
10. Carlos Checa (Althea Racing) Ducati 1098R 1'43.568
11. Michel Fabrizio (BMW Motorrad Italia GoldBet) BMW S1000 RR 1'43.700
12. Sylvain Guintoli (PATA Racing Team) Ducati 1098R 1'43.867
13. Chaz Davies (ParkinGO MTC Racing) Aprilia RSV4 Factory 1'43.872
14. David Salom (Team Pedercini) Kawasaki ZX-10R 1'44.244
15. Ayrton Badovini (BMW Motorrad Italia GoldBet) BMW S1000 RR 1'44.429
16. Brett McCormick (Team Effenbert Liberty Racing) Ducati 1098R 1'44.480
17. Hiroshi Aoyama (Honda World Superbike Team) Honda CBR1000RR 1'44.569
18. Lorenzo Zanetti (PATA Racing Team) Ducati 1098R 1'44.790
19. John Hopkins (FIXI Crescent Suzuki) Suzuki GSX-R1000 1'44.865
20. Alexander Lundh (Team Pedercini) Kawasaki ZX-10R 1'45.158
21. Lorenzo Lanzi (Liberty Racing Team Effenbert) Ducati 1098R 1'45.682
22. Matteo Baiocco (Red Devils Roma) Ducati 1098R 1'46.344
23. Norino Brignola (Grillini Progea Superbike Team) BMW S1000 RR 1'46.891