Portimao WSS: Lowes heads first day in Portugal

Published: 21 September 2012

Sam Lowes started as he means to go on by setting the fastest time in the first qualifying session at Portimao today.

The 21-year-old Bogdanka PTR Honda rider secured provisional pole position ahead of rival and team-mate Jules Cluzel.

Fabien Foret secured third place ahead of Ten Kate Honda man Broc Parkes. Championship leader Kenan Sofuoglu secured sixth.

Britain’s Dan Linfoot had a strong opening session ending the day in seventh place onboard his MSD R-N Racing Team India Kawasaki.

Portimao - FIM Supersport World Championship - Qualifying 1

1. Sam Lowes (Bogdanka PTR Honda) Honda CBR600RR 1'46.080
2. Jules Cluzel (PTR Honda) Honda CBR600RR 1'46.374
3. Fabien Foret (Kawasaki Intermoto Step) Kawasaki ZX-6R 1'46.399
4. Broc Parkes (Ten Kate Racing Products) Honda CBR600RR 1'46.522
5. Florian Marino (MSD R-N Racing Team India) Kawasaki ZX-6R 1'46.827
6. Kenan Sofuoglu (Kawasaki Lorenzini) Kawasaki ZX-6R 1'46.965
7. Dan Linfoot (MSD R-N Racing Team India) Kawasaki ZX-6R 1'47.027
8. Massimo Roccoli (Team PATA by Martini) Yamaha YZF R6 1'47.230
9. Sheridan Morais (Kawasaki Lorenzini) Kawasaki ZX-6R 1'47.289
10. Vittorio Iannuzzo (Power Team by Suriano) Triumph Daytona 675 1'47.332
11. Vladimir Leonov (Yakhnich Motorsport) Yamaha YZF R6 1'47.406
12. Alex Baldolini (Power Team by Suriano) Triumph Daytona 675 1'47.603
13. Roberto Tamburini (Team Lorini) Honda CBR600RR 1'47.669
14. Miguel Praia (Ten Kate Racing Products) Honda CBR600RR 1'47.678
15. Andrea Antonelli (Bike Service R.T.) Yamaha YZF R6 1'47.798
16. Gabor Talmacsi (PRORACE) Honda CBR600RR 1'47.833
17. Valentin Debise (SMS Racing) Honda CBR600RR 1'48.038
18. Mathew Scholtz (Bogdanka PTR Honda) Honda CBR600RR 1'48.073
19. Balazs Nemeth (Racing Team Toth) Honda CBR600RR 1'48.129
20. Romain Lanusse (Kawasaki Intermoto Step) Kawasaki ZX-6R 1'48.158
21. Jed Metcher (Rivamoto Junior Team) Yamaha YZF R6 1'48.291
22. Luca Marconi (VFT Racing) Yamaha YZF R6 1'48.358
23. Imre Toth (Racing Team Toth) Honda CBR600RR 1'48.480
24. Dino Lombardi (Team Lorini) Honda CBR600RR 1'48.592
25. Ronan Quarmby (PTR Honda) Honda CBR600RR 1'49.150
26. Danilo Marrancone (KUJA Racing) Honda CBR600RR 1'49.176
27. Sergey Vlasov (Yakhnich Motorsport) Yamaha YZF R6 1'49.289
28. Martin Jessopp (Riders PTR Honda) Honda CBR600RR 1'49.972
29. Yves Polzer (Team MRC Austria) Yamaha YZF R6 1'50.524
30. Adrian Pasek (Bogdanka Honda PTR) Honda CBR600RR 1'50.584
31. Eduard Blokhin (Rivamoto) Yamaha YZF R6 1'52.028
32. Fabio Menghi (VFT Racing) Yamaha YZF R6 1'52.164
33. Axel Maurin (Team GOELEVEN) Kawasaki ZX-6R 1'52.876