WSS: Sofuoglu gains advantage with pole

Published: 20 July 2013

With the weather conditions that met the WSS second qualifying session proving to be intermittently rainy, Sam Lowes (Yakhnich Yamaha) had one last chance to to ride to pole on his very last lap. His bike developed an engine problem however, which suddenly lost him power.

Lowes almost crashed shortly after and although his third sector time showed that up until that point he was going to take the fastest lap, he now starts the race on Sunday from second place, behind his main championship rival, Kenan Sofuoglu (Kawasaki Mahi Racing Team India).

Local man and Lowes' team-mate Vladimir Leonov goes third off the grid, with Kawasaki privateer Andrea Antonelli (kawasaki Team Goeleven) fourth. Kevin Coghlan (Kawasaki DMC-Lorenzini) pushed his Zx-6R to tenth place.


Moscow - FIM Supersport World Championship - Qualifying 2

1. Kenan Sofuoglu (MAHI Racing Team India) Kawasaki ZX-6R 1'38.088

2. Sam Lowes (Yakhnich Motorsport) Yamaha YZF R6 1'38.240

3. Vladimir Leonov (Yakhnich Motorsport) Yamaha YZF R6 1'38.691

4. Andrea Antonelli (Team Goeleven) Kawasaki ZX-6R 1'38.792

5. Alex Baldolini (Suriano Racing Team) Suzuki GSX-R600 1'38.919

6. Michael Vd Mark (Pata Honda World Supersport) Honda CBR600RR 1'38.975

7. Jack Kennedy (Rivamoto) Honda CBR600RR 1'39.249

8. Fabien Foret (MAHI Racing Team India) Kawasaki ZX-6R 1'39.295

9. Roberto Rolfo (ParkinGo MV Agusta Corse) MV Agusta F3 675 1'39.378

10. Kev Coghlan (Kawasaki DMC-Lorenzini Team) Kawasaki ZX-6R 1'39.406

11. Massimo Roccoli (Team Pata by Martini) Yamaha YZF R6 1'39.424

12. Raffaele De Rosa (Team Lorini) Honda CBR600RR 1'39.519

13. Florian Marino (Kawasaki Intermoto Ponyexpres) Kawasaki ZX-6R 1'39.559

14. Christian Iddon (ParkinGo MV Agusta Corse) MV Agusta F3 675 1'39.618

15. Luca Scassa (Kawasaki Intermoto Ponyexpres) Kawasaki ZX-6R 1'39.719

16. Fabio Menghi (VFT Racing) Yamaha YZF R6 1'39.749

17. Lorenzo Zanetti (Pata Honda World Supersport) Honda CBR600RR 1'39.751

18. Mathew Scholtz (Suriano Racing Team) Suzuki GSX-R600 1'39.821

19. Roberto Tamburini (Team Lorini) Honda CBR600RR 1'40.057

20. Valentin Debise (Prorace) Honda CBR600RR 1'40.283

21. Imre Toth (Racing Team Toth) Honda CBR600RR 1'40.314

22. David Linortner (Team Honda PTR) Honda CBR600RR 1'40.978

23. Kenny Noyes (PTR Honda) Honda CBR600RR 1'41.095

24. Nacho Calero Perez (Honda PTR) Honda CBR600RR 1'41.369

25. Luke Mossey (PTR Honda) Honda CBR600RR 1'41.372

26. Sergei Krapukhin (RWT-ALPHA Sport) Yamaha YZF R6 1'41.998

27. Alexey Ivanov (Kawasaki DMC-Lorenzini Team) Kawasaki ZX-6R 1'42.611

28. Matt Davies (Team Honda PTR) Honda CBR600RR 1'42.748

29. Eduard Blokhin (Rivamoto) Honda CBR600RR 1'43.858

30. Balazs Nemeth (Complus SMS Racing) Honda CBR600RR 1'46.405