Monza WSB: Sykes grabs pole

Published: 11 May 2013

Motocard Kawasaki rider Tom Sykes will start tomorrow's WSB races from pole position after setting the fastest time ever around the Monza circuit with a best lap of 1:41.223.

Current championship leader Sylvain Guintoli will start from third on the grid after snatching the final spot on the front row from Pata Honda rider Jonathan Rea in the final moments of the session.

Guintoli's Aprilia Racing team-mate Eugene Laverty will start from the middle of the front row in second place.

Rea heads the second row ahead of GoldBet BMW rider Marco Melandri and Althea Aprilia rider Davide Giugliano.

Frenchman Jule Cluzel will start from the front of the third row ahead of Fixi Crescent Suzuki team-mate Leon Camier and Welshman Chaz Davies.

1. Tom Sykes GBR Kawasaki Racing ZX-10R 1m 41.223s
2. Eugene Laverty IRL Aprilia Racing RSV4 1m 41.301s
3. Sylvain Guintoli FRA Aprilia Racing RSV4 1m 41.542s
4. Jonathan Rea GBR Pata Honda CBR1000RR 1m 41.798s
5. Marco Melandri ITA BMW GoldBet S1000RR HP4 1m 41.819s
6. Davide Giugliano ITA Althea Aprilia RSV4 1m 41.926s
7. Jules Cluzel FRA Fixi Crescent Suzuki GSX-R1000 1m 42.680s
8. Leon Camier GBR Fixi Crescent Suzuki GSX-R1000 1m 42.808s
9. Chaz Davies GBR BMW GoldBet S1000RR HP4 1m 42.955s

10. Michel Fabrizio ITA Red Devils Roma Aprilia RSV4 1m 42.469s
11. Loris Baz FRA Kawasaki Racing ZX-10R 1m 42.726s
12. Ayrton Badovini ITA Alstare Ducati 1199 R 1m 43.801s

13. Max Neukirchner GER MR Ducati 1199 R 1m 44.246s
15. Fabrizio Lai ITA Pedercini Kawasaki ZX-10R 1m 44.883s
14. Federico Sandi ITA Pedercini Kawasaki ZX-10R 1m 44.889s