Sofuoglu beats track best for record Superpole

Published: 18 October 2015

FIM Supersport World Champion for the fourth time in 2015, Kenan Sofuoglu (Kawasaki Puccetti Racing), became the new all-time pole king in the 600cc class after taking his 23rd career pole win in qualifying, and at a record pace.

Sofuoglu set a blistering 2’00.989 under the floodlights at Losail, riding to an advantage of 0.792 seconds over his nearest rival Lucas Mahias (MG Competition Yamaha). Sofuoglu finally broke the previous track best that had been set by current GP star Cal Crutchlow on a Yamaha in 2009.

Third quickest rider proved to be Gino Rea (CIA Landlords Insurance Honda) with his final throw of the dice, placing three different makes of machine onto the front row for Sunday’s 15-lap Supersport race.

Fourth fastest rider was Patrick Jacobsen (Core” Motorsport Thailand Honda). Kyle Smith (PATA Honda World Supersport Team) packed in the places behind Rea. The three-cylinder MV Agusta of Lorenzo Zanetti was the final bike on the second row.

Nico Terol (MV Agusta Reparto Corse), rookie rider Marco Faccani (San Carlo Puccetti Racing Kawasaki) and Christian Gamarino (Team Go Eleven Kawasaki) occupied the third row and seasoned veteran Roberto Rolfo (Team Lorini Honda) competed the top ten on the grid.

The session was stopped and restarted after an early crash from young Aussie privateer Glenn Scott AARK Racing) which left a fluid spill on the track. Another smoking bike, Alex Baldolini’s Race Department ATK MV Agusta, was shown the black flag with an orange spot near the end of the restarted session, but the action was not interrupted a second time.