Ad closing in seconds....

Sofuoglu the champion for the fourth time

Published: 04 October 2015

Kenan Sofuoglu (Kawasaki Puccetti Racing) won the 2015 Supersport World Championship after finishing second in a shortened 11-lap contest.

Sofuoglu looked like he would win the race to win the crown but PJ Jacobsen (Core” Motorsport Thailand Honda), knowing he had to win and see Sofuoglu lower than second, went all out to take his second win of the year.

It was a bizarre WSS finale with two parts to the race, and only the final one counting for points.

In the first start a lighting holeshot from Sofuoglu (Kawasaki Puccetti Racing) and seeing his only rival Jacobsen pushed wide and down to fifth, the Turkish rider was well on his way to race and championship win – until a red flag caused a further delay to an already late WSS race start.

The CIA Insurance Honda of Kevin Manfredi (CIA Landlords Insurance Honda) was blowing oil and the race was stopped, with Jacobsen up to second but over five seconds behind at the red flag.

An 11-lap restart was called scheduled for 12.20.

Jacobsen led that after a few corners, Sofuoglu was second and Lucas Mahias (MG Competition Yamaha) third.

Sofuoglu had a try inside into Adelaide on lap two but Jacobsen rebuffed him, but as Sofuoglu pushed on drying track surface, he took the lead.

The top three were six seconds ahead after only three laps and carried on moving forward, getting faster as the track dried out.

With Jacobsen reasserting himself for the win, Sofuoglu eased up for second, with Mahias in third.

Sofuoglu celebrated his win with a rolling burnout down the start finish straight.

Lorenzo Zanetti (MV Agusta Reparto Corse) was fourth, Kyle Smith (PATA Honda World Supersport Team) fifth and Kevin Wahr (SMS Racing Honda) sixth.

Gino Rea (CIA Landlords Insurance Honda) fell at the Adelaide hairpin with a handful of laps to go, and restarted down in eighth place, but moved to seventh by the end of the race.