Sykes wins final Superpole of 2015 season

Published: 18 October 2015

Tom Sykes (Kawasaki Racing Team) scored a new track best of 1’56.821 at Losail in Qatar on his way to his 30th career Superpole win and his sixth of the season. He is only the second rider to reach the landmark of 30 pole wins. Troy Corser is the all-time best in Superpole, with 43 top starting positions to his name.

Under the strong spotlights at Qatar there were several candidates for the Superpole win but it was Kawasaki 1-2 at the end, with Jonathan Rea (Kawasaki Racing Team) second and just 0.176 seconds from Sykes.

A sensational third place came for the stand-in rider Xavi Fores (Aruba.itRacing - Ducati WSB) who displaced his temporary team-mate Chaz Davies ( Racing - Ducati WSB) to fourth.

In a neat 2 by 2 formation for the top teams, Leon Haslam (Aprilia Racing Team - Red Devils) was fifth and fast race pace rider Jordi Torres (Aprilia Racing Team - Red Devils) sixth. Suzuki followed the trend of pairs withAlex Lowes (Voltcom Crescent Suzuki) and Randy De Puniet (Voltcom Crescent Suzuki) seventh and eighth respectively.

Michael van der Mark (Pata Honda WSB) ended up ninth while privateer Ducati rider Leandro Mercado (Barni Racing Team Ducati) was tenth.

Matteo Baiocco (Althea Racing Ducati) had a heavy crash right at the end of the session and ended up 11th.

David Salom (Kawasaki Team Pedercini) and Mercado were the two riders who escaped from Superpole 1 into Superpole 2, with Salom 12th on the grid.

Sylvain Guintoli (Pata Honda WSB) was only 13th and Leon Camier (MV Agusta Reparto Corse) was 16th of the 22 riders on show.