Jonathan Rea awarded prestigious Torrens Trophy

1 of 1

Three-time World Superbike champion Jonathan Rea was honoured by the Royal Automobile Club today as he was presented with the prestigious Torrens Trophy.

Rea has won the award in recognition of his remarkable feats in 2017, including becoming the first rider in history to win three successive WorldSBK crowns as well as amassing an all-time points record after winning 16 out of 26 races.

The Torrens Trophy is awarded to an individual or organisation considered to have made an outstanding contribution in the UK to the cause of safe and skilful motorcycling, technical excellence to further the cause of motorcycling or shown outstanding skill in international motorcycling sporting events.

Cal Crutchlow won the award last year for becoming the first British rider to win a premier class Grand Prix in 35 years, other previous winners include Ian Hutchinson for overcoming the horrific injuries he sustained between 2010-2012 to go on to add more TT wins to his ever-growing tally.

Rea is not the first World Superbike Champion to be honoured, in 2013 Tom Sykes was presented the award after his success, as was James Toseland in 2007.

“It gives me great pleasure to present the 2017 Torrens Trophy to Jonathan in recognition of his outstanding achievement," said Torrens Chairman Barrie Baxter. Aside from his remarkable talent, he’s a huge credit to our sport and is raising the profile of motorcycle racing in this country.”

Read the latest stories causing a buzz this week in Sport…

Oli Rushby

By Oli Rushby

Former sports reporter covering British Superbikes, World Superbikes and road racing