WSB: Ten Kate Racing return to World Supersport with Dominique Aegerter

Dominique Aegerter switches to World Supersport with Ten Kate Racing in 2021
Dominique Aegerter switches to World Supersport with Ten Kate Racing in 2021

Ten Kate Racing will return to the World Supersport Championship next year with Dominique Aegerter. 

The Dutch team are the most successful outfit in the Supersport class with nine world titles between 2002 and 2014. In fact, Ten Kate Racing were undefeated between 2002 and 2008, securing the championship with Fabien Foret, Chris Vermeulen, Karl Muggeridge, Sebastien Charpentier (2), Kenan Sofuoglu and Andrew Pitt. 

Related articles from MCN

Sofuoglu won the title again in 2010, with Michael van der Mark taking the team’s last success in 2014. All of those titles were achieved on the Honda CBR600 RR, however next year’s efforts will be on the Yamaha YZF-R6. 

Team manager Kervin Bos said: “Ten Kate Racing Yamaha back in World Supersport, how nice is that? We have started this project with only one goal in mind and that is fighting for the top positions.”

Aegerter is a Moto2 race winner and podium finishes, whilst the Swiss rider also picked up two wins in MotoE this year, on his way to third overall. The 30-year-old also finished on the podium in his maiden Suzuki 8 Hour appearance in 2014 and followed it up with another podium in 2015. 

“I am very happy that I will be a part of the Ten Kate Racing Yamaha WorldSSP project in 2021,” Aegerter said. “First of all, I owe a lot to Gerrit – and Ronald ten Kate and Kervin Bos – for all the faith they have in me and giving me a chance in their professional and very experienced team. It is an amazing opportunity, and it is my goal to be able to fight for the top positions in every race next season.

“It will be the first time for me to ride a Yamaha YZF-R6 but I have ridden a lot of different machinery in the last couple of months so I do not expect that it will be hard to change my riding style to this machine. Besides that, I will be entering a very experienced team and I am convinced that, together with my crew chief and mechanics, I will get used to this machine quickly and be able to go fast.”

Two of the last three World Supersport champions have been series rookies after making the switch from Moto2, with Sandro Cortese and Randy Krummenacher taking the title. In fact, the last champion to not come from or return from Moto2 was Van der Mark in 2014.

“He [Aegerter] is very experienced but also fast, we are very proud to be welcoming Dominique into our team,” Bos added. “We think that his experience, drive and fighter’s mentality are a very good match with our new World Supersport project.

“But this announcement is just the start, in the coming weeks we hope to bring you more news regarding this new World Supersport project but definitely our World Superbike plans for 2021 as well.”