Misano MotoGP: Jorge Lorenzo wins 250cc GP

Published: 02 September 2007

Jorge Lorenzo has won the 250cc Grand Prix at Misano, taking his eighth race win of the year and extending his championship lead to 54 points. Hiroshi Aoyama took second, with Hector Barbera third.

Italian Andrea Dovizioso was challenging for victory until his Honda stopped with mechanical problems. The battle for second then evolved into a fight between the KTM's of Hiroshi Aoyama and Mika Kallio, until the Finish star suffered a major highside.

With first and second places decided, the battle was now on for third place, as Barbera had to hold off Thomas Luthi and Alex de Angelis on the finish line.

Lorenzo celebrated his 54 point lead, with five rounds remaining, by putting on a Roman gladiator outfit, as he increased his chances of leaving the 250cc class as world champion before joining Valentino Rossi in the Yamaha MotoGP squad for 2008.

Eugene Laverty took 15th on his Honda, but Dan Linfoot retired.

Misano results:

1. Jorge Lorenzo.
2. Hiroshi Aoyama.
3. Hector Barbera.
4. Thomas Luthi.
5. Alex de Angelis.
6. Shuhei Aoyama.
7. Roberto Locatelli.
8. Alvaro Bautista.
9. Yuki Takahashi.
10. Julian Simon.
11. Jules Cluzel.
12. Aleix Espargaro.
13. Ratthapark Wilairot.
14. Karel Abraham.
15. Eugene Laverty.
16. Efren Vazquez.
17. Imre Toth.
18. Omar Menghi.

DNF: Mika Kalliio. Alex Baldolini. Andrea Dovizioso. Dan Linfoot. Dirk Heidolf. Fabzrizio Lai. Marco Simoncelli.