Vote now for your 2013 MCN Man of the Year!

1 of 1

With British riders taking on the world in 2013 – and winning – there’s a whole host of top talent in the running for MCN’s Man of the Year, including three world champions in Tom Sykes, Sam Lowes and Tai Woffinden.

After coming so tantalisingly close in 2012, Sykes was unstoppable this season as he took nine wins en route to lifting the first British WSB crown since James Toseland back in 2007. Meanwhile, in the Supersport class, Sam Lowes was almost unbeatable, taking ten podiums from eleven to romp to the world title.

Woffinden, a wildcard entry and outside bet at the start of the season, upset the order in the Speedway GP series, riding through two broken collarbones to become the first British world champ in the sport since 1992.

In MotoGP there was no stopping the incredible rookie performance of Marc Marquez, as the Spanish kid provided excitement on and off the track as he became the youngest Grand prix champion ever.

The Brits had a good year in MotoGP too, though, with Cal Crutchlow securing a factory ride with four podium places and fifth overall, while in Moto2 Scott Redding had one hand on the title until a broken wrist in Australia relegated him to runner-up.

Back at home, the other Lowes twin Alex brought the fight to Shakey Byrne in BSB, riding an almost flawless second half of the season to deny the veteran his fourth title.

On the roads, there was a changing of the guard at the TT, as Michael Dunlop won an incredible four races in a week. Cementing himself as the successor to John McGuinness’ title as King of the Mountain, he was still unable to beat the old master in the big one, as McGuinness took the Senior TT crown. Meanwhile, comeback hero Ian Hutchinson scorched the opposition to win the Macau Grand Prix, his first race back after injuries that almost cost him his leg.

Voting runs until the 5th February, and the winner will be presented with his award at the MCN London Motorcycle Show on 14th-16th February.