Byrne takes double at Oulton Park

1 of 1

The fourth round of the British Superbike championship saw yet another triumph for the Monstermob Ducati team as Shane Byrne took the double winning both races despite Michael Rutter’s assertions before the race that his Ducati was now ready to challenge Byrne’s supremacy.

The first race saw Byrne finish with a comfortable five second lead over second place Rutter.

Steve Hislop appeared to be having a little more success with his Yamaha R1 taking it to a third place finish, only his second podium of the year.

Steve Plater managed to get the best out of his Honda SP2 finishing in fourth place with Rizla Suzuki rider Yukio Kagayama taking fifth. Kagayama’s team-mate John Reynolds only managed to take his GSX-R1000 to eighth place almost 25 seconds down on Byrne.

The second race saw things turn around a bit. Byrne still took first place but this time he extended his lead to a massive 9.4 seconds.

John Reynolds turned him self around after the first race beating Michael Rutter to second place by five seconds.

Yukio Kagayama just managed to hold on the fourth place but was closely followed home by Steve Hislop just 0.2 seconds behind.

Honda rider Mark Heckles improved on his 10th place finish in race one to bring Colin Edwards former WSB SP2 home in sixth but it was a close fought battle with Dean Ellison. Ellison failed to finish the first race and lost out to Heckles on the line in race two by just 0.001 seconds.


Race 1: 1 Shane Byrne 29:37.968, 2 Michael Rutter 29:43.700, 3 Steve Hislop 29:44.420, 4 Steve Plater 29:50.449, 5 Yukio Kagayama 29:58.832, 6 John Crawford 29:59.701, 7 Gary Mason 30:00.849, 8 John Reynolds 30:02.181, 9 Glen Richards 30:09.287, 10 Mark Heckles 30:11.245, 11 Jon Kirkham 30:22.292, 12 Scott Smart 30:27.616, 13 Lee Jackson 30:28.090, 14 Paul Young 30:29.028, 15 Nick Medd 31:08.122, 16 Francis Williamson 31:10.437, 17 Dave Wood 31:18.936, 18 Jeremy Goodall 1 Lap Behind, 19 Sam Corke 1 Lap Behind, 20 Paul Jones 1 Lap Behind, 21 Mike Walker 1 Lap Behind, 22 Howie Mainwaring 1 Lap Behind, 23 Alan Moreton 1 Lap Behind, Dean Ellison D.N.F, Sean Emmett D.N.F, Gordon Blackley D.N.F.

Race 2: 1 Shane Byrne 29:30.799, 2 John Reynolds 29:40.205, 3 Michael Rutter 29:45.601, 4 Yukio Kagayama 29:47.907, 5 Steve Hislop 29:48.022, 6 Mark Heckles 29:53.655, 7 Dean Ellison 29:53.656, 8 Glen Richards 30:03.321, 9 Gary Mason 30:05.850, 10 John Crawford 30:10.202, 11 Paul Young 30:15.382, 12 Lee Jackson 30:15.535, 13 Scott Smart 30:31.487, 14 Dave Wood 30:48.832, 15 Francis Williamson 30:49.285, 16 Jeremy Goodall 31:05.755, 17 Nick Medd 1 Lap Behind, 18 Sam Corke 1 Lap Behind, 19 Paul Jones 1 Lap Behind, 20 Mike Walker 1 Lap Behind, 21 Gordon Blackley 1 Lap Behind, 22 Alan Moreton 1 Lap Behind, Jon Kirkham D.N.F, Steve Plater D.N.F, Sean Emmett D.N.F, Howie Mainwaring D.N.F.

To comment on this story click the link on the right to go to our BSB discussion board.

MCN Staff

By MCN Staff