BSB riders line up for Mallory special

1 of 1

Shane Byrne is the latest rider to sign up for the Superbike Race of the Year at Mallory Park on October 12

The newly crowned British Superbike champion will be competing at the Leicestershire circuit for the £35,000 prize fund, along with a host of other top British riders.

Mallory decided to stage the one-off event after it lost its round in the British Superbike championship for 2003, moving the Race of the Year from its usual date at the beginning of the year to let the top BSB teams compete after the season comes to a close.

Along with Byrne on his Monstermob Ducati 998 other riders confirmed for the two 20-lap Superbike races include Renegade Ducati’s Michael Rutter, Glen Richards on the Hawk Kawasaki ZX-7RR, Steve Plater on the Honda SP-2, Gary Mason on the Virgin Yamaha R1 and John Reynolds on the Rizla Suzuki GSX-R1000. More riders are expected to confirm soon.

The day will also see a Supersport race with the likes of Honda Racing’s Karl Harris on his CBR600RR and Jim Moodie on the Triumph Daytona 600. There will also be 125cc, 1300cc and sidecar support races as well as the final of the Drayton Croft Mallory trophy – the circuit’s own club racing series – and the Fred Beecroft memorial race.

The races will be the first major event to use the new ‘Edwina’s’ chicane added to the track at the start of this season.

For more info or to book tickets call the circuit on 0115-912-9000.

To comment on this story click the link on the right to go to our BSB discussion board.

MCN Staff

By MCN Staff