Anstey wins Proddie TT

1 of 1

Bruce Anstey has won the Production TT today, Tuesday June 8, after the race was postponed from Monday.

The New Zealander overcame an early challenge to win at record lap and race speed, with an overall time of 54 minutes 53.5 seconds at an average speed of 123.7mph on his TAS Suzuki GSX-R1000.

Four riders broke the lap record on the opening lap, including Anstey, McGuinnes, Ian Lougher and Jason Griffiths. Anstey took the lead early on the scond lap and extended his gap as the pitstops were taken, posting another lap record even as he slowed down to refuel. He rejoined the track 14 seconds in front of McGuinness. Third was Griffiths, fourth Lougher, and fifth Archibald. Martin Finnegan was sixth until picking up a ten second penalty and eventually retiring.

Anstey eventually won the race by 18 seconds. McGuinness came under pressure from his team-mate Griffiths but held on for second. Fourth was Lougher, fifth Archibald and sixth was Britton. The first 750cc machine to finish was Paul Hunt on a Suzuki GSX-R750, who finished 11th.

MCN Staff

By MCN Staff