Ad closing in seconds....

Coma takes Dakar win

Published: 14 January 2006

Updated: 24 November 2014

Marc Coma has won the overall race on the 2006 Dakar Rally.

The Spanish rider, who came second last year, won the race without taking victory in a single stage, saying at the end it was the race win he was after not stage victories.

Fellow KTM rider Cyril Despres came home in second despite a massive fall earlier in the event that left him with a dislocated shoulder and collar bone. He finished almost 75 minutes behind Coma.

The final stage of the race, around the Lac Rose in Dakar was un-timed in memory of the two local children that were killed by Dakar vehicles.

Coma dedicated his win to team-mate And Caldecott who was killed when he fell from his bike at high speed on stage 9.

Top Brit was Honda riding Mick Extance who finished the race in 27th, improving on his 49th last year. He was followed by BMW’s Nick Plumb in 78th, Patsy Quick in 88th and Clive Town in 89th. 93 riders finished the rally out of 232 starters.

Click here for the full final standings.

Turn your kit in to cash with MCN Auctions

Bauer Media

Bauer Media Group consists of: Bauer Consumer Media Ltd, Company number: 01176085, Bauer Radio Ltd, Company Number: 1394141
Registered Office: Media House, Peterborough Business Park, Lynch Wood, Peterborough, PE2 6EA H Bauer Publishing,
Company Number: LP003328 Registered Office: Academic House, 24-28 Oval Road, London, NW1 7DT.
All registered in England and Wales. VAT no 918 5617 01
Bauer Consumer Media Ltd are authorised and regulated by the FCA(Ref No. 710067)