Ad closing in seconds....

Dakar: Stage 14

Published: 14 January 2006

Updated: 24 November 2014

David Fretigne has taken his first stage win in the 2006 Dakar and become the first non KTM rider to take a win this year.

The Yamaha rider took advantage of a serious navigation error by top riders Cyril Despres and Giovanni Sala to take the win, but he was very closely followed by Race leader Marc Coma just 30 seconds behind.

Despres and Sala turned too early in the middle of the stage and managed to get lost for 20 minutes finishing in an unusually low 43rd and 53rd respectively.

Top placed Brit was Mick Extance who finished the race in 48th ahead of Nick Plumb in 52nd, Patsy Quick in 62nd and Clive Town in 64th.

After the death of another spectator today organisers have decided not to time the final beach race stage of the race, so as longs as riders finish the day today’s results will be their final standings and Marc Coma will become the 2006 winner.

Click here for stage 14 results

Click here for the overall standings

Bauer Media

Bauer Media Group consists of: Bauer Consumer Media Ltd, Company number: 01176085, Bauer Radio Ltd, Company Number: 1394141
Registered Office: Media House, Peterborough Business Park, Lynch Wood, Peterborough, PE2 6EA H Bauer Publishing,
Company Number: LP003328 Registered Office: Academic House, 24-28 Oval Road, London, NW1 7DT.
All registered in England and Wales. VAT no 918 5617 01
Bauer Consumer Media Ltd are authorised and regulated by the FCA(Ref No. 710067)