Ad closing in seconds....

Awards time at NEC

Published: 01 November 2006

Bennetts British Superbike Champion Ryuichi Kiyonari has confirmed he will be back to defend his title in 2007.

The HM Plant Honda Rider made his announcement as he was crowned with his championship in front of a packed audience at the NEC’s International Motorcycle and Scooter Show.

His main rivals from 2006, Leon Haslam and Gregorio Lavilla who rode with the Airwaves Ducati team, will also be back in the championship. Quality bikes for sale: Click here.

Bike reviews: Click here.

Product reviews: Click here. Japan’s first BSB winner said: “The races were very hard, but I take the title for Honda and yes, I will be coming back to race here next year, when I want to win the title again.”

Other riders awarded were runner-up Haslam who received a £50,000 limited edition Audi sportscar for his overall speed qualifying speed. The 23-year-old was voted MCN ‘Man of the Year’ and ‘Riders rider of the Year’ in the British championship.

Other winners:

Chris Martin - British Superbike Cup

Jonathan Rea - Steve Hislop Memorial Trophy.

Daniel Cooper - 125GP Champions Trophy

Anthony Rogers - ACU Academy Cup

Brendan Roberts - Metzeler Racetec National Superstock

Bob Collins - Superstock Cup