TT Ace Ian Hutchinson is MCN’s Man of the Year

1 of 1

Road racing legend Ian Hutchinson said he was “overwhelmed” to receive MCN’s coveted Man of the Year award at the Carole Nash Motorcycle Show yesterday.

Hutchinson, who made history at the TT in June by winning all five solo races, beat MotoGP stars Valentino Rossi, Jorge Lorenzo and others in a poll of thousands of MCN readers.

After accepting the prize on stage, he said: “I never even thought of myself getting an award like this. When I saw my name in the final ten, alongside Valentino Rossi’s, that was enough for me to feel overwhelmed.”

Hutchinson joins the ranks of former Man of the Year winners including Rossi, Mike Hailwood, Giacomo Agostini, Barry Sheene and Joey Dunlop.  

The MCN award has been to given to one outstanding rider every year since 1958, when it went to John Surtees.

Read more on this in MCN, on sale January 9.

Read the latest stories causing a buzz this week in News…

Steve Farrell

By Steve Farrell