Reynolds on pole for Rockingham

1 of 1

Rockingham was the circuit that decided the championship in last season’s British Superbike Championship, and it has favoured reigning champion John Reynolds again, this time in more fortuitous circumstances.

Reynolds claimed pole for tomorrow’s race as the only rider to record a lap time under one minute ten seconds. He is still closely followed by Sean Emmett and Steve Hislop, with Michael Rutter, Glen Richards, and Shane Byrne rounding out the top six.

During qualifying Paul Brown high-sided at the same spot which halted Hislop’s title challenge last year. He was taken to the medical centre after complaining of a neck injury, but it looks like it won’t be serious enough to stop him racing tomorrow.

Steve Plater also had a bad Superpole, after running third in practice. He eventually qualified in seventh on the grid.

1. John Reynolds, 1:09:988. 2. Sean Emmett, 1:10.088. 3. Steve Hislop, 1:10:192. 4. Michael Rutter, 1:10:370. 5. Glen Richards, 1:10:370. 6. Shane Byrne, 1:10:542

Read the latest stories causing a buzz this week in Sport…

MCN Staff

By MCN Staff