Ad closing in seconds....

Everts wins MXGP championship

Published: 02 September 2003

Updated: 24 November 2014

Stefan Everts has won the inaugral MXGP championship, his third successive world title after 500cc championships in 2001 and 2002.

Everts is the most successful rider in Motocross, winning his seventh world title with one round left. Once again the Belgian led from start to finish at the latest round in Locket on Sunday August 31. His nearest rival, countryman Joel Smets, suffered a double crash on lap ten, leaving him to finish tenth.

Everts was followed home by team-mate Marnicq Bervoets and Honda’s Brian Jorgenson.

1) Everts. 2) Bervoets. 3) Jorgenson. 4) Coppins. 5) Corckard. 6) MacFarlane. 7) federici. 8) Gundersen. 9) Caps. 10) Smets. 11) Strijbos. 12) Priem. 13) Atsuta. 14) Turpin. 15) Leok. 16) Martin. 17) Ristori. 18) Kovalainen. 19) Monni. 20) Freibergs

Everts was also victorious in the 125cc race earlier in the day, but couldn’t stop the title going to Steve Ramon, who finished eighth. Outgoing world champion Mickeal Maschio took second and KTM’s Ben Townley too third.

1) Everts. 2) Townley. 3) Maschio. 4) Bartolini. 5) Eggens. 6) Chiodi. 7) Seguy. 8) Ramon. N9) Sword. 10) Rattray. 11) Leok. 12) Charlier. 13) Andersson. 14) Goncalves. 15) Leok. 16) Letellier. 17) Leuret. 18) Traversini. 19) Philippaerts. 20) Coisy.

Discuss these results and the new world champions on the off-road message boards by following the link on the right.

Bauer Media

Bauer Media Group consists of: Bauer Consumer Media Ltd, Company number: 01176085, Bauer Radio Ltd, Company Number: 1394141
Registered Office: Media House, Peterborough Business Park, Lynch Wood, Peterborough, PE2 6EA H Bauer Publishing,
Company Number: LP003328 Registered Office: Academic House, 24-28 Oval Road, London, NW1 7DT.
All registered in England and Wales. VAT no 918 5617 01
Bauer Consumer Media Ltd are authorised and regulated by the FCA(Ref No. 710067)