Lavilla heads BSB series

1 of 1

The Cadwell Park round of the British Superbike championship rewarded young riders as Tommy Hill and Leon Haslam each took a race win.

Tommy Hill took his first superbike victory in the first race after a clash between the leading Airwaves Ducati pair of Haslam and Gregorio Lavilla. Haslam had lead for 16 laps when Lavilla took the lead, and attempting to fight back, Haslam pushed the pair wide. Lavilla recovered to finish second with Haslam ending up down in sixth.

HM Plant title rivals Ryuichi Kiyonari and Michael Rutter both had disapointing results, with Kiyonari fifth, and Rutter eighth.

Glen Richards rode well to take third place, in front of Karl Harris. In contrast a three rider pile-up at the first corner involved Steve Brogan, Chris Burns and Jon Kirkham. Other non-finishers were Johnathan Rea and Steve Plater, with Scott Smart and Dennis Hobbs failing to make the start due to injury.

Race two saw Haslam maintain his lead to the finish from Gregorio Lavilla. With his second place, the Spanish rider now heads the British Superbike championship, as Michael Rutter crashed out of the race. The British rider was unhurt, and will aim to repair his two point deficit at the next round at Oulton Park.

Third place went to Kiyonari, followed by race one winner Hill. Karl Harris took a creditable fifth.

And in the Supersport race Cal Crutchlow took his first victory, joined by Simon Andrews and Leon Camier. Both Camier and Craig Jones were involved in a first lap incident which saw the race red-flagged and restarted, with Sam Owens and James Hillier also crashing out.

MCN Staff

By MCN Staff