Ad closing in seconds....

Everts wins in Spain

Published: 15 April 2006

Updated: 24 November 2014

Stefan Everts has taken the 89th win of his career with overall victory at the World Motocross GP of Spain at bellpuig on Saturday, April 16, 2006.

The Belgian recovered from a mistake in the old whoops section in the opening race, which saw him drop down to fifth place, to eventually finish in third. The win went to Suzuki rider Kevin Strijbos, with Tanel Leok taking second on the Kawasaki after starting from pole position. Britain's James Noble took ninth place.

Looking to buy a bike? Click here.

Wondering which bike to buy? Click here.

Browse over 1700 product reviews online. Click here.

The second moto saw Everts lead from start to finish despite a brief challenge from Leok, who settled for second. Third went to Steve Ramon. Mark Hucklebridge took 17th, just ahead of James Noble.

In the MX2 class, Tyla Rattray took the overall win. The first race was won by kenneth Gundersen, from Alessio Chiodi and Marc De Reuver. Rattray was fifth, with Carl Nunn seventh and Billy Mackenzie eighth. The second moto saw Antonio Cairoli take the win from Rattray, with Mackenzie taking a fine third place, and third overall.

MX1 Moto 1 results:

1. Kevin Strijbos.

2. Tanel Leok.

3. Stefan Everts.

4. Jonathan Barragan.

5. Ken De Dycker.

6. Steve Ramon.

7. Sebastien Tortelli.

8. Julien Bill.

9. James Noble.

10. Cedric Melotte

MX1 Moto 2 results:

1. Stefan Everts.

2. Tanel Leok.

3. Steve Ramon.

4. Cedric Melotte.

5. Sebastien Totrelli.

6. Ken De Dycker.

7. Jonathan Barragan.

8. Manuel Priem.

9. Pascal Leuret.

10. Brian Jorgenssen.

MX1 championship: 1. Everts 92. 2. Leok 82. 3. Tortelli 77. 4. Ramon 69. 5. De Dycker 61. 6. Strijbos 60. 7. Barragan 59. 8. Melotte 54. 9. Leuret 47. 10. Priem 30.

MX2 Moto 1 results:

1. Kenneth Gundersen.

2. Alessio Chiodi.

3. Marc De Reuver.

4. Christophe Pourcel.

5. Tyla Rattray.

6. Sebastien Pourcel.

7. Carl Nunn.

8. Billy Mackenzi.

9. Luigi Seguy.

10. David Philipaerts.

MX Moto 2 results:

1. Antonio Cairoli.

2. Tyla Rattray.

3. Billy Mackenzie.

4. Rui Goncalves.

5. Marc De Reuver.

6. David Philipaerts.

7. Christophe Purcel.

8. Davide Guarneri.

9. Luigi Seguy.

10. Alessio Chiodi.

MX2 championship: 1. Rattray 83. 2. De Reuver 74. 3. Gundersen 64. 4. Pourcel C 64. 5. Philippaerts 59. 6. Cairoli 53. 7. Chiodi 48. 8. Nunn 47. 9. Mackenzie 45. 10. Pourcel S 44.

Bauer Media

Bauer Media Group consists of: Bauer Consumer Media Ltd, Company number: 01176085, Bauer Radio Ltd, Company Number: 1394141
Registered Office: Media House, Peterborough Business Park, Lynch Wood, Peterborough, PE2 6EA H Bauer Publishing,
Company Number: LP003328 Registered Office: Academic House, 24-28 Oval Road, London, NW1 7DT.
All registered in England and Wales. VAT no 918 5617 01
Bauer Consumer Media Ltd are authorised and regulated by the FCA(Ref No. 710067)