Everts denied 100th win

1 of 1

Josh Coppins won the second MX1 class race at Desert Martin in Northern Ireland to deny Stefan Everts his 100th career win, even as Everts ensured Yamaha will win the 2006 Manufacturers title.

Everts won the first race to claim victory number 99, despite light bursts of rain, and the close attention of Coppins. Coppins finished second for Honda, with team-mate Ken De Dycker third. Top Brit was Gordon Crockard in fifth.

Quality off-road bikes for sale: Click here.

MCN and user bike reviews: Click here.

Browse over 2000 product reviews: Click here.

The second race saw Everts and Coppins swap places as they lapped the field up to third position, with Everts finally conceding the lead in the closing stages, having sealed his the 2006 title at Namur three weeks ago. Jonathan Barragan took third, with Britain’s James Noble ninth.

In MX2 Tyla Rattray took both wins, with Antonio Cairoli and Christophe Pourcel filling the podium in the first race. Tommy Searle took 11th. Marc De Reuver and Davd Phillipaerts made an all-KTM podium with Rattray in race two, as Billy Mackenzie finished ninth.

MCN Staff

By MCN Staff