Ad closing in seconds....

Norasport Championship from Teeside

Published: 16 July 2007

Updated: 24 November 2014

Norasport had the fourth Round of the British Supermoto Championship at Teesside this weekend which also hosted the Fifth Round of the National Championships.

In the Youth racing on Saturday Oliver Harrison was pressuring Lewis Cornish, who by now had gained the most points in the championship. Oliver managed two wins out of the three, but Lewis points advantage may just take the top championship spot.

Josh Hasleden had very consistent places and all within the top five.

In the National 450 Championship it was no surprise James Addy would be on pole for race one, given his form since the beginning of the season.

Bruce Dingle and James Farmer were both within half a second of James’s lap time. David Farmer took the lead in race one with James Addy chasing him but he couldn’t quite gain enough ground.

Behind these two riders, on his own was William Moore who was clear of the chasing pack, as Steven Booth fought off Jack Fay and Lee Rudd for the fourth spot.

In the second race James Addy flew off the line and started to pull away, but a stalled machine left him at the back of the pack.

David Farmer had another excellent race and his second win of the day. Bruce Dingle was much improved for race two with his second position, as was Will Moore in third again.

Dave Wood had moved up from group B after the first race, and he finished in eighth place.

Bruce Dingle went into the lead in the final and held the first position also claiming the highest points score.

Meanwhile James Addy had worked his way up the pack and seriously threatened the top spot, putting in the fastest lap and stopping short of the first place trophy. Phil Gee had the third place trophy, and Brad Davey and Mick Bertram had excellent finishes in fifth and sixth position after a B group start to the day.

In the National Open racing James Addy was the fastest again, but Will Moore and Bruce Dingle were also looking to take to the front position going into race one.

James Addy set the pace from the start with Bruce Dingle hot on his heels, the next pack saw a dice of four riders with Andrew Williamson at the front, the race was then subject to a restart.

Still at the front was James Addy this time followed by Kevin Drayton and David Farmer, Bruce Dingle however quickly took the third place.

James Addy began to pull away at the front while Bruce Dingle continued to put pressure on Kevin Drayton in second place but these three would cross the line in first, second and third, with David Farmer in fourth position.

Chris Babbitt and Phil Gee were just a whisker apart in the chase for twelfth place.

In the second race Bruce Dingle had the lead from James Addy and Kevin Drayton, but by lap four James Addy had taken the lead back even though Bruce Dingle wasn’t giving up on his chances.

These top three places were to remain static to end of the race.

The final race was run in wet conditions and James Addy led the race from Bruce Dingle. James Addy was off the bike in the final lap and although he remounted he couldn’t stop Bruce Dingle from taking the win.

Kevin Drayton had an excellent day with a second in race one and then he claimed his second third place finish in the final. William Moore was static in fourth but added these to his two fifth place finishes. Andrew Williamson had been up to sixth behind David Farmer but lost one position to Stephen Booth in the last part of the race.

Final Race Result Open A Group
1. Bruce Dingle, 2. James Addy, 3 Kevin Drayton, 4. William Moore, 5. David Farmer

British Championship

Christian Iddon had been fastest in Qualifying on Saturday and with a modified dirt section for Sunday’s race, it was David Hartley who took the advantage and led the race for the first four laps.

Iddon then held firm in first position for the rest of the race, even though Sam Warren was hot on his heels. David Hartley kept his third place clear from the battle for fourth place.

Ady Smith had the advantage in the early part of the race but Andy Mitchell made up six positions and hold off Ady Smith for mid the section of the race. By lap eight Ady had regained fourth spot and wasn’t about to let go.

Chris Hodgson looked as if he had done enough to hold onto sixth spot and be the first 450 rider home, when Keith Farmer got past him on the final lap.

Greg Kinsella had been behind Chris Hodgson but was unable to make the pass and claimed points for eighth place.

Race two had been declared a wet race and all the teams had to face last minute tyre changes.

Christian Iddon had led the race but then lost the lead to Sam Warren in the ninth lap, and Ady Smith made the best of the weather to record a third place finish, this time with the Husaberg of Greg Kinsella chasing him.

Matt Winstanley finished in fifth and Nigel Scott took ninth place, with Shane Parkin receiving excellent points towards the 450 championship with tenth place. Over the line in first place for the second time however was Christian Iddon

In the final race of the day Christian was unable to continue with his bike damaged in the dirt section, leaving Sam Warren to take the final win. This wasn’t going to prove easy for Sam though as Matt Winstanley relentlessly challenged him in the latter stages of the race.

Ady Smith put up an excellent show in the poor conditions to hold on firm to third place, and Greg Kinsella showed determination as he powered the bike over the line.

David Hartley helped the points along with a fifth place finish, while Keith Farmer had a slid off the bike but quickly remounted to keep his seventh spot.

With racing in Bulgaria at the weekend there will be little turnaround time for the teams before Round five at Three Sisters in only two weeks.

Bauer Media

Bauer Media Group consists of: Bauer Consumer Media Ltd, Company number: 01176085, Bauer Radio Ltd, Company Number: 1394141
Registered Office: Media House, Peterborough Business Park, Lynch Wood, Peterborough, PE2 6EA H Bauer Publishing,
Company Number: LP003328 Registered Office: Academic House, 24-28 Oval Road, London, NW1 7DT.
All registered in England and Wales. VAT no 918 5617 01
Bauer Consumer Media Ltd are authorised and regulated by the FCA(Ref No. 710067)